Ancestral Sightings contains notices and brief mentions of Wayne County residents found in out-of-county and out-of-state resources. These "stray" notices are important as an announcement of a birth, marriage, death or other event may not have appeared in a Wayne County paper or book. Please send us your contribution to this page! **No notice is too small.** A one-line mention may be the solution to someone's brick wall.
These sightings and profiles of former Wayne County residents come from various books, newspapers and articles published in other states or NYS counties. Many states "Out West" published books with short biographies about their local residents, telling where they originally came from. Occasionally these contain important genealogical information. Michigan and Ohio genealogical journals are another source to look for the stray Wayne County record. The persons whose short bios and info appear below may or may not be your ancestors, but it's worth scanning through them to check out migration patterns out of Wayne County for clues as to where your own families' relatives went and when.
NEW 12/6/15 Cornelius Vanderbilt Bockoven's biographical sketch comes from History of Jackson County, Michigan. Chicago: Inter-State Publishing Co., 1881.
C. V. Bockoven, son of John and Sarah (Vanderbilt) Bockoven, was born in Lyons, Wayne Co., N.Y., June 30, 1818. They were both natives of New Jersey, where they had married and moved to New York while yet young. His father's family had come from Holland many generations back and settled in New Jersey. His mother was a cousin of the late Commodore Vanderbilt. Mr. B. grew up to the years of manhood on his father's farm, in Wayne county, N.Y. In November, 1838, he came to Michigan, and worked at his trade in Jackson until July 3, 1840, when he again returned to New York. While at his home, in Wayne county, Oct. 1, 1840, he was married to Elizabeth, daughter of Henry Lombright. She also was born in Wayne county, in 1819. Soon after their marriage they came to Jackson county. He had located some land in Ionia county, and was intending to go there to live; but while stopping with some friends in the town of Springport, they persuaded him to locate land in that town which which he did, and settled the same season on the farm which he now occupies. Here 7 children were born to them, 4 of whom are yet living - Maria, now Mrs. Geo. Wilcox; Henry, living at LaPorte, Ind.; George E., who is still at home, and Carrie E., now Mrs. J. C. Tracy, of Illinois; William G. was a member of the 42d Ill. Vo., Co. E., and was killed by the accidental discharge of a gun at Warsaw, Mo., Oct. 27, 1861. Mrs. B. died July 31, 1864. He was married a second time, in April, 1865, to Hattie C. Irons. She died in February, 1868, leaving no children. Dec. 1, 1868, he married Maria A. Ford, youngest daughter of William Ford, one of the pioneer men of the city of Jackson. Mr. Ford was born in the city of Hartford, Conn., in 1828. His father, Benjamin Ford, had been a soldier in the Revolution, and fought at the battle of Bunker Hill. He afterward accompanied Arnold on his famous march from New England to Canada. Mr. Ford was married in Randolph county, Vt., to Rebecca Flint, and shortly after their marriage came to Wayne county, N. Y., settling on a farm where he lived until 1836, when he removed his family to Jackson, Mich. Eleven children were born to them, some of whom had preceded him to Jackson. All are now dead except Mrs. Bockoven. Mr. Ford had come with his son William to Jackson in 1835, and having considerable capital he purchased a large tract of land on which the city is now built. He made use of the fine water-power he found in the river, and put up what is known as the Aetna Mill, which he ran for a number of years; but during the financial crisis of 1839-'40, the property fell into other hands. Mr. Ford was one of the founders of the city of Jackson, and died here in April, 1845. [Pages 1079-1080.]
NOTE: Cornelius Vanderbilt Bockoven rests in Griffith Cemetery, Springport, MI. The dates on the findagrave listing are Jan. 30, 1818 - Jul. 9, 1897. It also says that he was the son of "John and Lewah (Vanderbilt) Bockoven," and that he married "Elizabeth Lambright" on Oct. 2, 1840 in Wayne County, NY. Lambright would be the correct spelling of his first wife's surname. An 1840 Bockoven-Lambright marriage is listed on the Office of the County Historian's "Index to Wayne County Whig Marriages."
NEW 12/6/15 Newell Norton Hayden's biographical sketch comes from History of Jackson County, Michigan. Chicago: Inter-State Publishing Co., 1881.
N.N. Hayden, son of Newell and Vashti (Wright) Hayden, natives of Connecticut, was born Dec. 9, 1802, in Ulster county, N. Y. At the age of six or seven years his family removed to Wayne county, N. Y., where Mr. Hayden lived until he had attained the years of manhood, when he went to Seneca county, of the same State, where he engaged in teaching school, which vocation he followed several years. July 17, 1832, he married Mary Saunders, of that county, who was born in Pennsylvania, Dec. 17, 1815, and had come to Seneca county when yet a young girl. The fruit of this union was 3 children - Jacob N., Mary E. and Mary V., all of whom are now dead. In June, 1838, Mr. Hayden removed his family to Michigan, coming by way of the lakes to Detroit, and from thence by rail to Ypsilanti, as the railroad did not extend any further at that time; from there he came with wagons to his present farm in the town of Springport, Jackson Co., where he has since lived. Mrs. Hayden died here April 27, 1842, and Oct. 5 of the same year he married Hannah, daughter of Potter and Huldah Hammond, formerly of the town of Hanover. She was born in the town of Verona, Oneida Co., N. Y., Aug. 19, 1816. By this marriage Mr. Hayden had 6 children - Huldah, Sarah (deceased), William B., Emma, now Mrs. B. O. Martin, Norton H. and Minnie. Wm. B. is married and living on the home farm; Norton H. is teaching in the Upper Peninsula. Mrs. Hayden died Feb. 24, 1880. They had both united with the M. E. Church while young, and have ever remained its staunch supporters. Mr. H. had come to Michigan in 1834 and located the quarter section on which he afterward moved. [Pages 1089-1090.]
NOTE: N.N. Hayden and his second wife Hannah rest in Pope Cemetery, Springport MI. The dates on his findagrave listing are Dec. 9, 1802 - Jan. 15, 1884, while his stone just gives d.o.d. and age as 81 yrs. 1 mo. 6 ds. According to the U.S. Census Mortality Schedule, "Hanah Hayden," age 64, died as a result of being thrown from a buggy in February 1880. Mr. Hayden's first wife, Mary, rests in the small Brown (a.k.a. Adams) Cemetery, Tompkins, Jackson County MI. The dates on her stone read Dec. 17, 1815 - Apr. 27, 1842. Also found in Brown Cemetery are daughter Mary E. Hayden, May 24, 1837 - Feb. 15, 1841, and son J.H. Hayden, Jul. 26, 1833 - May 7, 1848. The stone is aged and Jacob's initial could be interpreted as "N" or "H." There are no listings on findagrave for a Mary V. Hayden in Wayne or Seneca Cos. NY or in Michigan. She would be the Mary Hayden, age 9, residing with Newell & Hannah Hayden in the 1850 census of Springport MI. A couple of researchers on ancestry.com gives Mary's dates as Apr. 19, 1842 - Sept. 11, 1863, but cite no sources, nor give any indication that she ever married. The preceding biographical sketch in the book is for N.N. Hayden's brother Erastus, b. 1809., d. 1877. It says that on Feb. 14, 1830 he married Sarah A. Austin, of "Williamstown, N.Y." Was this an error and should be Williamson, in Wayne County NY, where many Austins resided? Erastus also rests in Pope Cemetery in Springport, as do his wives Sarah and Mary.
NEW 12/6/15 Caleb Miner's biographical sketch comes from History of Jackson County, Michigan. Chicago: Inter-State Publishing Co., 1881.
Caleb Miner was born in Dutchess county, N. Y., at the village of Nine Partners, on the banks of the Hudson, April 27, 1812. He is the son of Elnathan and Amy (Weeks) Miner, natives of Long Island. When he was two years of age, his father being dead, his mother removed to Putnam county, N.Y., where he spent the days of his boyhood until he had reached the age of 10 or 11 years, when the family removed to Saratoga county, and a few years later to Wayne county, of the same State. Here he grew to manhood, and in 1830 he married Catharine Gee, who was also born in Dutchess county, N.Y.; is the daughter of Isaac Gee, one of the early settlers of this county. She died in Nebraska, where she had gone in hopes of recovering her failing health, April 30, 1875. Mr. Miner has a family of 6 children - Elnathan, Charlotte, Phebe, Caleb, Isaac and Newton. Mr. Miner came to Michigan from Wayne county, N. Y., in the fall of 1849, and bought the farm on which he now lives of a Mr. Hecox. He has improved it and now has a good farm and a pleasant home. He was married a second time, Feb. 2, 1877, to Phebe Mosier, widow of Arthur Mosier. She was a sister of his former wife, and was born in Dutchess county, N. Y., in 1816. [Pages 1093-1094.]
NOTE: Caleb Miner passed away on May 14, 1887, age 75, and rests in Pope Cemetery, Springport MI, with his second wife Phebe Gee Miner.
NEW 12/6/15 John H. Jones's biographical sketch comes from History of Jackson County, Michigan. Chicago: Inter-State Publishing Co., 1881.
John H. Jones, grocer, 113 North Jackson street, was born in Wayne county, N.Y., in 1835; at the age of 20 years went to Attica, Ind., and clerked in his brother's drug-store two years; spent some two years at various occupations in Michigan; returned to New York in 1860, and in August, 1861, enlisted in the 160th New York Infantry, Co. C; was with Gen. Banks on his Red River expedition, participated in the battles of Port Hudson and Pleasant Hill; ascended the James river in 1864 to the front of Richmond, Va., was with Gen. Sheridan in the battles of the Shenandoah Valley; was wounded in the fight at Cedar creek, by a shot which severed the sciatic nerve of his right thigh, rendering him a permanent cripple; was taken prisoner in the field, but recaptured that night. He commanded the company from the siege of Port Hudson until wounded, but held the rank of Sergeant; was discharged in June, 1865; came to Jackson in January, 1866, and began the grocery business in the building he now occupies, two doors north, the following month. The first 10 years he had a partner; since has been sole proprietor; does a general retail trade of $25,000 a year. Mr. Jones is now serving his seventh consecutive year in the Board of Supervisors, from the first and second wards; is a stockholder in, and Secretary and Treasurer of the Bonanza Coal Company; and is a member of the A. F. & A. M., Jackson Lodge, 17. He married Miss Della, daughter of William Langdon, an early settler in Jackson, in October, 1870. They have 1 daughter and 2 sons still living. [Pages 656-657.]
NOTE: John H. Jones has a simple stone at Mount Evergreen Cemetery, Jackson MI, with dates of 1835 - 1913. The plot is in "Blk 6 Range 4 Lot Adj 1", owned by William Langdon. His wife Della Langdon Jones' stone has dates 1847 - 1909. Her plot is in "Blk 6 Range 4 Lot 1" with William Langdon as plot owner. According to the Michigan Death Index, John H. Jones was born ca. 1835 and passed away at the age of 78 on September 9, 1913 at Jackson MI. His father's name was Richard Jones and his mother's maiden name was A. H. Vanleurea.
His parents Richard and Ann Jones also left Wayne County and emigrated to Jackson County, Michigan. In 1880, 86-year-old Richard resided in Parma, Jackson County. Richard and Ann have a joint tablet stone in Mount Evergreen Cemetery (Plot is in Section C, Lot 53, owner Richard Jones). Richard Jones died March 2, 1881, aged 87 years & 22 days. Ann Jones died May 10, 1877. The section of the photo with her age is difficult to read. Although the owner of the listing has her born in 1802, it appears to read aged 72 years, 1 mo. and ? days, or born in 1805. That age coincides with her age in the 1850 and 1860 censuses. According to the Michigan Death Index, Ann Jones was born ca. 1805 in NY and passed away at Parma MI at age 72 on May 10, 1877. Buried in the same lot is son William M. Jones, 1841 - 1912.
In trying to trace this family, one brother was tracked, which might help researchers of this Jones family. In the 1870 census, John's brother Ezra, store clerk, age 25, resided in a Jackson MI boarding house. Love made him backtrack into New York State. According to the Sept. 18, 1973 issue of the Lockport NY Daily Journal, on Sept. 17, 1873, Ezra Z. Jones of Jackson, Mich. was married to Clara E. Farnsworth of Cambria NY by Rev. Dr. Wisner. In the 1880 census of Cambria NY, Ezra Jones, age 36, wife Clarissa age 28 and daughter Fanny Eva age 1, resided with her parents, Vermonters Hunt and Amanda Farnsworth. Ezra Jones, farmer, age 56 and b. Dec. 1843, fa. b. Wales, married 27 years, turns up in the 1900 census of Cambria, Niagara County NY. His wife Clara said that she'd had 3 children, with 2 living. Residing with them were daughter Fannie F., age 20 and born June 1879, and son Glen F., age 9, born May 1891, and Clara's widowed father Hunt Farnsworth, age 95, born January 1806 in Vermont. Hunt Farnsworth passed away in his 96th year on Oct. 9, 1901 at the home of his daughter Mrs. Ezra Z. Jones, leaving 4 survivng children and many grandchildren. He was buried in Budd Cemetery, Cambria Center NY. In 1905 and 1915, Ezra Z. Jones and wife Clara E. resided in Cambria. In 1905, both daughter F. Eva Jones, age 25, and son Glenn F. Jones, age 14, resided with Ezra and Clara. In the 1915 census son Glenn F., age 24, was residing with them. The photo of Ezra Z. Jones' stone at Lockport's Glenwood Cemetery on findagrave has dates 1843 - 1919. In 1920, Clara stated that she was a widow, and she owned the farm. In 1930 Clara E., widow age 78, resided on the same property, with single son Glenn F., age 38, as head of household. In her obit, in the Lockport Union-Sun and Telegram, Feb. 23, 1937, Clara E., widow of the late Ezra Z. Jones, passed away in her 86th year on Feb. 22, 1937 at the home of Grant Roberts. She was survived by one son, Glenn F. Jones, and two grandsons, Neil and Clay Roberts. She was buried in Glenwood cemetery, and her stone reads 1851 - 1937. On findagrave there is a stone for a baby Floyd associatied with both her and Ezra's listing. Perhaps this was the child deceased between Fannie Eva and Glenn. In 1940 census of the Town of Cambria, son Glenn was married. In the 1910 census of Cambria, Glenn F. Jones, age 18, resided as brother-in-law with Grant S. Roberts age 38 and Eva F. Roberts age 30. Grant and Eva had been married a year, had had one child who was no longer living. In the 1920 census of the city of Lockport, Neil Roberts, age 6 and Clay Roberts, age 4, resided with their parents Grant and Eva Roberts, ages 47 and 40 respectively. A June 23, 1922 obit in The Niagara Falls Gazettte for Fannie Eva Roberts, wife of Grant Roberts, stated that she died June 22, 1922 of a brief illness and that Mrs. Ezra Jones was her mother and Glenn Jones her brother. Although Fannie Eva is accounted for with her parents in the 1900 census of Cambria, in the 1900 census of Sodus an Eva F. Jones, single, age 22, b. March 1878, resided as a servant in the household of farmer Francis J. Pulver and wife Sarah E. This Eva stated that her father was born Michigan, which coincidentally is where Ezra Z. Jones was residing before he came back to NYS and married Clara E. Farnsworth.
In the 1850 census of Galen, Wayne County NY, 14-year-old John H. Jones resided with farmer Richard Jones, age 54 and b. Wales, and Ann Jones, age 45 and born NY. Other children in the household, all born NY, were James Jones, age 12, Mary Jones, age 11, Wm. Jones, age 9, Ezra Jones, age 6, Maria Jones, age 4, and infant Almyra Jones. The value of Richard Jones' real estate was $4,000.
In the 1860 census of Galen, Wayne County NY, 25-year-old farm laborer John H. Jones resided with his father, Wales-born farmer Richard Jones, age 66, and mother Ann, age 55. Others in the household were James H. Jones, age 23, district school teacher Mary Jones, age 20, farm laborer William M. Jones, age 18, Ezra Jones, age 15, Maria L. Jones, age 14, and 10-year-old Almira C. Jones. Richard Jones' real estate was valued at $6500, with personal assets of $1500.
In the 1870 census of Jackson MI, John H. Jones, grocer, age 35, was residing in a respectable boarding house in the city of Jackson. Two listings away was the household of affluent England-born pattern maker William Langdon, his wife Eliza, and three daughters, including 22-year-old school teacher Della, soon to be the bride of John H. Jones.
In the 1870 census of Parma, Jackson County, MI, retired farmer Richard Jones age 76 b. Wales, Ann Jones age 63 b. NY, and William M. Jones age 26, resided together. Richard was wealthier than most of his neighbors, his real estate valued at $13,600 and personal estate at $1,000. A separate household on the same farm was that of son James H., age 33, his wife Phila age 31, and son Charles R. age 1, b. Michigan.
In the 1880 Jackson census, grocer John H. Jones, age 45, resided at 45 Pearl St. with wife Della L., age 30 and b. Michigan, dau. Bessie L. age 5, son Ralph R. age 3 and son John H. Jr. age 1 month. He said that his father was b. NY and his mother b. Wales. In 1900 and 1910 censuses he said that his father was b. Wales.
Brother James H. Jones and his wife Phila A. Jones rest in Chapel Cemetery, Sandstone, Jackson County MI. James H. Jones' simple dates are 1837 - 1905, with "Father" at top of stone. Phila's simple dates are 1839 - 1899, with Mother at top of stone. The Michigan Death Index states that James was born ca. 1837 in NY and passed away July 8, 1905 at Parma MI. His parents were Richard Jones and Ann Van Luvan. According to the Michigan Death Index, Phila A. Jones was born ca. 1840 and died March 22, 1899 at Norvell, Jackson County MI. Her parents names were given as Charles Warner and Mary Chandler. In the 1850 and 1860 censuses of Canandaigua, Ontario County NY, Phila Warner resided with her parents Charles and Mary, and sisters.
In the 1880 census of Parma township, Jackson County MI, widowed retired farmer Richard Jones stated that he and his parents were born in Wales. Also residing with him was son James H. Jones, age 42, and wife Phila A., age 40, and their four children - Charles R., age 11, Ida M., age 8, James H., age 3 and Ella G., age 9 months and born Sept. 1879. All of the children were born in Michigan. In 1900, 62-year-old widower James H. Jones resided in Parma with his daughter Ella G. Jones, age 20, son James H. Jones, age 23 and attending school, servant Eliza B. Carr, age 48 and farm laborer Frank Smith, age 30. Their daughter Ida M. married Frank J. Harrington in 1898 and had a daughter, Dorotha G.
NEW 12/6/15 Caroline Hosford Brown Hammond's biographical sketch comes from History of Jackson County, Michigan. Chicago: Inter-State Publishing Co., 1881. Pages 1087-1088.
Caroline Hammond, daughter of Ashbel and Minerva (Marvin) Hosford, the former a native of Connecticut and the latter of Rhode Island, was born in the town of Carman (sic; Canaan), Litchfield Co., Conn., June 18, 1818. When she was about three years of age her parents her parents removed to the town of Lyons, Wayne county, N.Y., where she lived until she was married to John S. Brown, in February, 1838. Mr. Brown is the son of Jeremiah and Wealthy Brown. He was born in Wayne county, N.Y., Jan. 16, 1814. Soon after their marriage they started for Michigan, coming by the way of Canada, and made the whole journey with an ox team, and arrived at what is known as Wade's Mill, in Tompkins tp., Jackson Co., on the 13th of May, 1838, and settled on sec. 7, where they spent many happy years, and where a family of 8 children were born to them, of whom but 3 are living - Luther C., Frank and John J. They had 1 son in the late war, Luther C., who enlisted in 1861 in Co. E, 20th Mich. Inf., and served for three years. Mr. Brown was a man that had always taken an interest in eduction, and was known and esteemed all over his county. In his business affairs he had been quite successful and he had accumulated a large farm, one of the best improved in the county. He died here Sept. 21, 1857, and is buried in the graveyard near the old farm. April 17, 1873, Mrs. Brown married Hiram Hammond, of Hamlin, Eaton Co. Mr. Hammond had come to this place at an early period from near Rochester, N.Y., and located his farm. He died Jan. 15, 1876, in his 67th year, having been a resident of Eaton county for over 40 years. He had a family of 3 children by a former wife, all of whom are now dead. He had held many of the offices of his town. Mrs. Hammond is a spiritualist, as was also her husband.
NOTE: The photo of Caroline Hosford Brown Hammond's stone on findagrave gives her exact dates - June 18, 1818 - September 25, 1887. She rests in the small Brown Cemetery in Tompkins Twp., Jackson County MI, as do her first husband John S. Brown, their 8 children, and Mr. Brown's parents. Although this county history says otherwise, the Michigan State Return of Marriages for Jackson County shows that Caroline married Hiram Hammond on April 13, 1873, when she was 54 years old. The marriage was recorded on April 14, 1873. She's listed under both her widow name of Caroline Brown and maiden name of Caroline Hosford. According to a biographical sketch of Frank Brown, son of John S. and Caroline, in DeLand's History of Jackson County, Michigan, Jeremiah Brown the grandfather migrated out to Jackson County MI in 1838. Jeremiah Brown's family is listed on the 1830 census of Lyons NY, and he was listed as a private on a Lyons-area 71st Infantry War of 1812 muster roll. According to Ye Horseforde booke (page 56), Caroline was the daughter of Ashbel Hosford and Minerva Cleveland. Her father's household was enumerated in the 1820 census of Canaan CT. An Ashbel Hosford is listed in the 1830 census of Lyons,the houshold including a male aged 60-70, and female aged 50-60.
NEW 12/6/15 George W. Barns' [BARNES] biographical sketch comes from History of Jackson County, Michigan. Chicago: Inter-State Publishing Co., 1881.
Tompkins Township, Personal Sketches, page 1119.
George W. BARNS was born in Galen, Wayne Co., N. Y., April 15, 1822; is the oldest child of John and Mary Barns; the father was a native of New York; mother of Ireland, and came to America when she was three years old; father died in New York, in 1873, and the mother in 1871. George W. left his native county, came to Michigan and settled in this tp. [township] on his present farm in sec.[section]n 8, in 1863. He has been married twice, the first time to Miss Martha Ann Rhea, March 8, 1855, who died July 24, 1869. The second time he was married to Mary S. Cook, March 1, 1871, daughter of Peter and Abigail (Holben), and was born in West Fayette, Seneca county, N. Y., Nov. 23, 1840; she came to this tp. [township] in 1860. Mr. and Mrs. Barns are the parents of 1 child - Anna E., born March 14, 1872. Mr. Barns is a member of Lodge No. 152 of I. O. 0. F., at Onondaga. In politics he is an uncompromising Republican.
NOTE: In the 1850 census of Rose, Geo. Barnes, age 28 and a cooper, resided with his parents John and Mary and 7 siblings. Information in family trees at ancestry.com says that his first wife, Martha Ann, maiden name unknown, was previously married to Arnold K. Rhea, d. 1852, who rests on Ferguson Corners Cemetery. Martha and Arnold "Ray" are the second household after the Barnes family in the 1850 census. Geo. W. Barnes and Martha Barnes, and four of her Rhea children, are listed in the 1860 census of the Town of Rose, Wayne County NY. In the 1870 census of Tompkins Township, George W. Barnes, age 48, was residing with Susan Cook, housekeeper, age 29, and two young Cook children, Lewis age 11 and Ada age 8. Susan was Mary S. Cook, who he'd marry in 1871. In the 1880 census of Tompkins Twp., George Barnes, age 58, resided with wife Mary S. Barnes 39, son Lewis T. Barnes 21, and daughter Anna Barnes, age 8. Step-son Lewis went by the name Lewis Cook in subsequent censuses. The record of Lewis Thurston Cook's (d. 11 Dec. 1917) second marriage notes that his parents were Palmer Cook and Mary Holben, while in the original sketch of George W. Barnes it said that Mary was the daughter of Peter and Abigail Holben in parentheses. George and Mary's daughter's birth records don't give Mary's maiden name. In the 1860 Tompkins Twp. census, Palmer Cook, age 21, was residing in the household of Stephen and Ellen Cook. He appears to be the same Palmer S. Cook who enlisted in Jackson MI in the MI 3rd Cav. in Oct. 1861 and mustered out in TX in Feb. 1866. No further record of him found.
George's first wife:
Martha A. Barns
Wife of Geo. W. Barns
1820 - July 24, 1869
Age 48 yrs. 6 mos. 26 das. Griffith Cemetery
Springport, Jackson County MI
Ferguson Corners Cemetery
Town of Galen
John, June 10, 1874, 78-2-5
Mary, wife, April 10 1871, 75-10-12
The rest of George W. Barnes' immediate family appear to have stayed in Wayne County.
The Clyde Times, Thursday, December 7, 1915, page 4
John H. Barnes, a respected resident of this village, died t his home Thursday, Nov. 30, 1916, following an illness of two months.
Mr. Barnes was born in the western part of Rose, May 15, 1830, one of the family of nine children of the late John and Mary Barnes. The greater part of his life was spent in the tow of his nativity, where he achieved success as a farmer and where he was regarded as one of its stable citizens. In politics he was the staunch Republican, and at the last election made the effort to go to the polls and cast his vote for the candidates of his choice. Two years ago he purchased the Snedaker property on Sodus street and with his family came to this village to reside. Those surviving are his wife, one daughter, Miss Jessie Barnes, and one brother, Elijah Barnes of this town.
Funeral services which were largely attended were held from his late home Monday afternoon at 2 o'clock, Rev. W. H. Johnson of this village assisted by Rev. W. H. Niles, pastor of the Rose Presbyterian Church, officiating. Six nephew of the deceased acted as bearers. Interment was in Rose Cemetery.
George's brother Elijah was the last surviving child of John and Mary Barnes:
The Clyde Herald, Wednesday, March 22, 1922, page 5
Elijah Barnes, one of the oldest residents of this town, died last Friday afternoon at the home of his son, Alvin Banes, at Fergusons Corners, aged 90 years. Mr. Barnes was a native of this town, but had spent a good share of his life in the town of Rose.
Deceased was the last surviving member of a family of 8 children. He leaves four sons, Alvin, Arthur, Eugene and Clarence, all of this town.
Funeral services were held Sunday afternoon, with interment in the Rose Cemetery.
NEW 12/6/15 Shubeal / Shubael A. Fuller's biographical sketch comes from History of Jackson County, Michigan. Chicago: Inter-State Publishing Co., 1881. Pages 795-796.
Shubeal A. Fuller, of Columbia tp., was born in Macedon, Wayne Co., N. Y. His father, John Fuller, was a farmer in Massachusetts, where his parents settled in 1787, when he was but six months old. He made his own way in the world and after ward settled in Wayne county, N. Y., where Shubeal was born, June 15, 1819. Mr. Fuller's grandfather was a shoemaker by trade, and a native of New Hampshire. At the age of 30 he moved to Massachusetts, where he followed his trade and farming. He was a man of much intelligence, a loyal citizen, and during the war of the Revolution was a valiant soldier, and took part in some of the hottest battles of that notable conflict. He died in Monroe county, N. Y., at the age of 63. John Fuller, Jr., was the father of 14 children - 9 sons and 5 daughters. All are living but 4 sons and 2 daughters. He came to Michigan in 1837, first settling in the town of Madison, Lenawee Co., where Shubeal received his education, after which he purchased the homestead which he occupied three years. He next engaged as traveling salesman for Needham & Co., publishers, of Buffalo, and afterward settled on his present premises in Columbia tp., one-half mile south of Brooklyn village, in 1876. Dec. 24, 1851, he married Miss Martha A. Sanborn, daughter of Abram Sanborn, of Hanover tp., this county, and later of Montcalm county, where he died Jan. 5, 1872. Her mother's maiden name was Sarah Dearborn, daughter of Josiah Dearborn, a farmer. Mrs. Fuller was born March 30, 1832. They have 3 children - Nellie M., John A. and Lizzie.
NOTE: his listing on findagrave is under Shubael A. Fuller. Dates given are June 15, 1819 Macedon NY - July 21, 1892, Jackson Co. MI. His wife Martha A. Sanborn Fuller's dates are given as 1833 NY - May 18, 1896. Both rest in Oak Grove Cemetery, Napoleon, Jackson County MI. Also buried there are Shubael's parents, John Fuller (Jr.) and Content Thompson Fuller. John Fuller and John Fuller Jr. are adjacent to each other in the 1820 census of Palmyra, Ontario Co.
NEW 5/10/14 T. B. Elliott's brief biographical sketch comes from History of Milwaukee, Wisconsin: From Pre-historic Times to the Present Date. Madison, Wisconsin: Western Historical Association, 1881.
T. B. ELLIOTT, of the firm of Jenkins, Elliott & Winkler, attorneys and counselors at law, is a native of Wayne County, New York. He came to Milwaukee in 1852 and studied law; was admitted to the Bar in 1860. In 1867 he associated himself with Jas. G. Jenkins, and in 1874 the present firm of Jenkins, Elliott & Winkler was organized. [page 668]
NEW 5/10/14 Jesse Failing's biographical sketch comes from Republican League Register, a record of the Republican Party in the state of Oregon. Register Publishing Company, 1896.
FAILING, JESSE, of Pendleton, was born in Wayne County, New York, September 25, 1829, and came to Oregon in the fall of 1859. He worked as a carpenter in Portland. In 1879 he went to Pendleton, where he is a dealer in carpets and furniture. He has been a delegate to county conventions regularly, and to state conventions. He was a member of the City Council from 1884 to 1888. He has been the party nominee for County Clerk and County Treasurer, at times when there was a regular Democratic majority of from 300 to 600 to compete against. [page 207]
NEW 5/10/14 John F. Winans' biographical sketch comes from A History of the State of Oklahoma, Volume 2, by Luther B. Hill. Chicago: Lewis Publishing Company, 1910.
John F. Winans was born on a farm in Seneca County, New York, but was reared at Clyde, in Wayne county, to which place his parents moved when he was seven years old, and where he attended the Clyde high school. His parents had come to Seneca county from Elizabeth, New Jersey, when the former place was a wilderness. On May 10, 1861, he enlisted at Clyde in Company D, Sixty-seventh New York Infantry, and this regiment being assigned to the Sixth Corps, Army of the Potomac, he saw service in all the great historic battles of Virginia and the east, including Gettysburg, Antietam, Chancellorsville, the Wilderness, the Peninsular campaign, etc. He was severely wounded in the head at the battle of Spottsylvania Court House, May 12, 1864, and spent several months in the hospital. About the time he returned home, his father died, and he devoted a number of months to keeping up the home farm. He then found opportunity to study law in the office of Judge Cole at Clyde, where he was admitted to the bar. In the late sixties he moved west, and during brief periods of residence in several states he was engaged in teaching school and in law practice and the abstract business. Springfield, Missouri, was his place of residence for some years, and it was from that city that he went to participate in the rush to Oklahoma. In Oklahoma City he is a member of the Baptist church, and is prominent in the local G. A. R. post, having held most of the offices in the post. While living in Springfield, he married Miss Cora R. Raney, a native of Memphis, Tennessee. Their two children are George Clark Winans and Mrs. Edna L. Howell. [page 99]
NEW 5/10/14 Elmore W. Snyder's biographical information comes from A standard history of Kansas and Kansans, Volume 5, by William Elsey Connelley. Chicago: Lewis Publishing Company, 1918.
Elmore W. Snyder. A resident of Kansas since 1878, and with possibly one exception the oldest living bank president in the state, Elmore W. Snyder, president of the Manufacturers National Bank of Leavenworth, has been actively identified with the commercial and financial history of Kansas for nearly forty years. He was born in the Village of Red Creek, Wayne County, New York, November 23, 1850. Jacob Snyder, his great-grandfather, settled in that section of York State in pioneer times and operated a grist mill for many years. His grandfather, Amos Snyder, was there reared, engaged in farming, practiced law and served as judge of Wayne County.
James W. Snyder, father of Elmore W. Snyder, was born and reared in Wayne County, New York. He achieved prominence during the Civil war by recruiting Company A, Ninth New York Heavy Artillery, of which he was elected captain, and after serving two and one-half years was honorably discharged as colonel of his regiment. Colonel Snyder followed farming and grain buying principally during his active career, and when Oklahoma lands were thrown open for white settlement, joined the rush, although then well advanced in years, and succeeded in securing a claim where now stands the City of Guthrie. He took an active part in the early history of that city and for a period served as city treasurer. In his later life he moved to Wichita, Kansas, where he lived, honored and respected, until his death, in October, 1914. To his marriage with Sarah A. O'Neill, four children were born, of whom there are two now living: Chester, of Topeka; and Elmore W., of Leavenworth.
Elmore W. Snyder was reared in the locality where he was born and secured his education in the academy at Red Creek. At the age of nineteen years he left home and was employed for a time as clerk and bookkeeper in a store at Rochester, New York, from which city he went to Grundy County, Illinois, and there spent two years, keeping books for a grain and lumber concern. While living there, he made a return trip to the East, and in October, 1877, at Brandon, Vermont, was married to Miss Fannie M. Benson.
The year following this event, he moved to Clifton, Washington County, Kansas, where he embarked in grain buying and operating a bank, of which he was the president, and later, with his brother, who had come on from the East, established other banks at Linn and Palmer, in Washington County, although Mr. Snyder did not give up his grain business. In 1883 he located at Leavenworth, which city has since continued to be his home and the center of his successful business and financial activities. For five years after his arrival Mr. Snyder gave the principal part of his attention to grain buying, but directly after the organization of the Manufacturers National Bank became president of that organization and has continued to serve in that capacity ever since, - a period of over twenty-eight years. Largely through his sound ability, foresight and acumen, the Manufacturers National Bank of Leavenworth has become one of the foremost banking institutions of Kansas. This is a national, state, county and city depository, with a capital of $100,000, and a surplus of $90,000. It has modern safe deposit vaults, with boxes for rent, and interest is paid on savings accounts. Its officers are as follows: B. W. Snyder, president; C. W. Snyder, vice president; J. H. Atwood, vice president; Charles E. Snyder, cashier; and J. C. Walker, assistant cashier. The board of directors is composed of the following, all well known names at Leavenworth: H. W. Mehl, John H. Atwood, E. W. Snyder, Louis Vanderschmidt, A. M. Geiger, Charles E. Snyder, O. P. Lambert, W. A. Tholen and C. W. Snyder. The following is a condensed statement of the condition of the bank at the close of business, September 12, 1916: Resources: Loans and discounts, $590,283.50; overdrafts, none; U. S. bonds, at par, $101,000; other bonds, $387,750; stock in Federal Reserve Bank, $5,400; bank building, furniture and fixtures, $57,000; safe deposit vaults, $10,000; cash and sight exchange, $305,618.58. Liabilities: Capital stock, $100,000; surplus and profits, $93,716.73; circulation, $100,000; deposits, $1,163,335.35.
While banking has been the principal occupation of Mr. Snyder, he has also had much to do with other important endeavors. With others, in 1882, he perfected the organization that built the bridge over the Missouri River at Leavenworth. In politics, he is a republican, but aside from discharging the duties of American citizenship by voting has had but little to do with politics. He is a Knight Templar of the Masonic fraternity, and for many years has served as treasurer of Abdallah Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. Mr. and Mrs. Snyder are the parents of two sons: Charles E. and Ira Benson. The former has represented his county with much credit as a member of the Kansas Legislature, and is the present cashier of the Manufacturers National Bank; the latter is engaged, in mercantile pursuits in Chicago.
NEW 5/10/14 Rodolphus Field's and descendant Field genealogical information comes from Field Genealogy: Being the Record of All the Field Family in America, Whose Ancestors Were in this Country Prior to 1700, by Frederick Clifton Pierce. Chicago: W.B. Conkey Company, 1901.
1155. RODOLPHUS FIELD (OLIVER, DAVID, SAMUEL, SAMUEL, ZECHARIAH, JOHN, JOHN, Richard, William, William), son of Oliver and Keturah (Hoyt), b. in Conway, Mass. June 11, 1790; went with his father in 1796 to Phelps, Ontario county, N.Y.; at the breaking out of the war of 1812 he was residing in Bakersfield, Vr., and enlisted at Burlington, Vt., in the Third Regiment, United States heavy artillery; he was in the bombardment of Burlington, Aug. 2, 1813; the battle of Chateaugeay, Oct. 26, 1813; La Cole's Mill, Canada, March 30, 1814, and the battle of Plattsburg, Sept. 11, 1814; at the close of the war he settled in Utica, N. Y .; in 1818 removed to Sodus, N.Y., where he resided; a pensioner; he m. April 28, 1815, Rachel, dau. of Aaron and Susan (Watkins) Williams, of Utica, N. Y., b. Aug. 8, 1800; d. Dec. 29, 1875. Res. Sodus, N.Y.
2380. i. LURANCY, b. Jan. 29, 1816; d. April 10, 1838.
2381. ii. WILLIAM WILLIAMS, b. Dec. 15, 1820; m. Emily Tucker.
2382. iii. ELIZABETH, b. Dec. 25, 1824; m. Jan. 1, 1841, Joshua Lepper, of Sodus, N.Y.
2383. iv. CHARLES, b. June 26, 1826; drowned May 11, 1839.
2384. v. MORRIS, b. Jan. 8, 1829; m. Louisa Degen.
2385. vi. OLIVER C., b. Nov. 10, 1830; m. Nancy P. Graves.
2386. vii. MARIA, b. Oct. 11, 1833; m. Jan. 4, 1850, Nathan May, of Sodus.
2387. viii. CLESSON, b. Nov. 15, 1835; m. Mary Jane Featherly.
2388. ix. CATHERINE C., b. March 15, 1837; m. Oct. 16, 1861, Ashur Warner, of Cleveland, Ohio.
2389. x. WARREN A., b. Jan. 3, 1840; m. Elmira C. Haroun.
2390. MARY, b. Aug. 31, 1842; m. Jan. 20, 1864, William H. Mumford, of Sodus, N.Y.
The following information about children appears on pages page 726 - 727.
2381. WILLIAM WILLIAMS FIELD (Rodolphus, Oliver, David, Samuel, Samuel, Zechariah, John, John, Richard, William, William), son of Rodolphus and Rachel (Williams), b. in Sodus, N. Y., Dec. 15, 1820. He removed in 1854 to Rockford, Ill., where he now resides. He m. 1847, Emily, dau. of William and Elmira (Bruce) Tucker, of Sodus. b. April 6, 1824.
4074. i. MAURICE D., b. Jan. 12, 1850; m. Josephine E. Gauss.
4075. ii. ELLA A, b. Dec. 2, 1860; m. .
2384. MORRIS FIELD (Rodolphus, Oliver, David, Samuel, Samuel, Zechariah, John, John, Richard, William, William), son of Rodolphus and Rachel Williams), b. in Sodus, N. Y., Jan. 8, 1829. He enlisted Jan. 9, 1864, in Company D, 111th Regiment, New York Volunteers. The regiment went into action June 6, 1864, at the Wilderness, Va., and fought every day until they arrived at Petersburg, Va., where he was wounded June 18, and died from his wounds at City Point, Va., June 27, 1864. He was engaged in fourteen battles beside skirmishes. He m. July 4, 1850, Louisa, dau. of Charles and Esther (Hewitt) Degen, of Sodus, b. June 17, 1824.
4076. i. FRANKLIN, b. April 24, 1851.
4077. ii. MARY, b. Nov. 4, 1853.
4078. iii. CHARLES, b. April 24, 1856.
2385. OLIVER C. FIELD (Rodolphus, Oliver, David, Samuel, Samuel, Zechariah, John, John, Richard, William, William), b. Sodus, N. Y., Nov. 10, 1830. He removed in 1859 to Ralls county, Mo.; in 1861 to Rockford, Ill., where he now resides. He m. March 23, 1858, Nancy P., dau. of Chauncey and Mary (Miller) Graves, b. in Berlin, Vt., July 30, 1836.
4079. i. IDA R., b. Nov. 9, 1859. 4080 . ii. EVA S., b. July 31, 1861.
4081. iii. MINA J., b. Aug. 5, 1870.
2387. CLESSON FIELD (Rodolphus, Oliver, David, Samuel, Samuel, Zechariah, John, John, Richard, William, William), son of Rodolphus and Rachel (Williams), b. in Sodus, N. Y., Nov. 15, 1835; d. Sept. 14, 1874. He m. Dec. 31, 1860, Mary Jane, dau. of Abram and Elizabeth (Bain) Featherly, of Sodus, b. Sept . 10, 1840. Res. Sodus, N. Y.
4082. i. CHARLES, b. Oct. 21, 1861; d. March 3, 1863.
4083. ii. DEWITT C, b. Sept . 22, 1863.
4084. iii. JONATHAN, b. Sept. 29, 1865.
4085. iv. ANNA, b. Oct . 13, 1868.
2389. WARREN A. FIELD (Rodolphus, Oliver, David, Samuel, Samuel, Zechariah, John, John, Richard, William, William), son of Rodolphus and Rachel (Williams), b. in Sodus Point, N. Y., Jan. 3, 1840, where he now resides. He m. Jan. 13, 1864, Elmira C. dau. of Emerson and Amanda (Hulet) Haroun, of Sodus, b. April 9, 1840. Warren A. Field, b. Sodus Point, N. Y., son of Rodolphus, who was in war of 1812. Warren settled at Sodus Point, and at the age of fifteen was a sailor, and since then has spent most of his life on the lakes. Is owner and captain of the steamer Sunbeam; owns a store there; also a planing mill. Is a member of the Sodus Bay Yacht Club.
4086. i. ALVIN H., b. Feb. 18, 1866.
4087. ii. CORA BELLE, b. Dec. 1, 1870; m. Aaron Shufelt, of Sodus Point, N. Y.
NEW 5/10/14 These brief biographical sketches appeared in Collections, Volume 14, by the Minnesota Historical Society. St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Historical Society, 1912.
ACKER, WILLIAM H., b. in Clyde, N. Y., Dec. 5, 1833; was killed in the battle of Shiloh, April 7, 1862. He came to Minnesota in 1854; studied law, and was bookkeeper in a banking house; was adjutant general of this state, 1860-61; served in the First Minnesota Regt. in the civil war, attaining the rank of captain. Acker Post, G. A. R., in St. Paul, is named in his honor. [page 3]
BRAINERD, JOHN C., banker, b. in Sodus, N.Y., Oct. 2, 1844; came to Minnesota in 1854; resides at Blooming Prairie; was a representative in the legislature in 1895. [page 72]
CHAMBERLAIN, LEON T., lawyer, b. in Clyde, N.Y., April 3, 1862; came with his parents to Minnesota in 1864, and resided in Hastings; was educated at the University of Minnesota, 1884, and the St. Louis Law School, 1885; settled in St. Paul in 1887; was city attorney, 1893-5; assistant counsel, Northern Pacific Railway Co., 1895-1910; removed to Los Angeles, Cal. [page 115]
COWDERY, LYMAN EMMET, b. in Palmyra, NY., Feb. 18, 1836; d. in Minneapolis, Nov. 29, 1910. He came to Minnesota in 1859, and settled in Rochester in 1865; was register of deeds in Olmsted county six years; engaged in real estate business, and later owned a grain elevator, in Kasson; removed to Minneapolis in 1899. [page 146]
DOUGLASS, HARRISON, b. in Macedon, N.Y., March 21, 1825; d. in Fargo, N. D., March 17, 1902. He came to Minnesota in 1855; built an elevator in 1878 at Douglass, Olmsted county, which station was named for him. [page 185]
EDWARDS, CHARLES G., farmer, b. at Sodus Point, N.Y., in 1836; served in Ohio regiments in the civil war; came to Minnesota in 1870; settled in Spring VAlley; was a state senator in 1877 and 1887-9; was appointed collector of customs for the district of Minnesota in 1889. [page 201]
GAULT, Z. S., baker, b. in Lyons, N.Y., Feb. 19, 1843; came to Minnesota in 1853, and lived at Traverse des Sioux; was elected register of deeds for Nicollet county in 1870, and county auditor, 1873; was cashier of the Nicollet County Bank after 1885. [page 249]
HANCE, SAMUEL F., physician, b. in Macedon, N.Y., July 1, 1825; was graduated at Albany Medical College; was surgeon in the 89th Illinois Regt. in the civil war, and became division medical director; settle in Minneapolis in 1872. [page 297]
LEWIS, WILLIAM FRISBIE, physician and banker, b. in Clyde, N.Y., Oct. 3, 1829; first came to Mankato in 1856; and ten years later established a bank in that city. [page 438]
ODELL, ROBERT RANDOM, lawyer, b. in Newark, N.Y., Nov. 28, 1850; was admitted to the bar in 1875; came to Minnesota in 1881, settleing at Minneapolis, where he has since practiced; was U. S. commissioner, 1881-97. [page 561]
PHILLIPS, FREDERICK BOYD, lawyer, b. in South Sodus, N.Y., Dec. 21, 1876; came to Minnesota in 1891; served in the Fourteen Minnesota Regt. in the Spanish-American war, 1898; was graduated at the St. Paul College of Law, 1902, and has since practiced in St. Paul, residing at White Bear; was a representative in the legislature in 19007. [pp. 598-599]
PORTER, JEROME E., b. in Macedon, N.Y., Dec. 28, 1842; was graduated at Genesee College, 1863; was admitted to the bar in 1866; settled in Mankato, Minn., in 1870; was judge of probate, 1872-80, and municipal judge, 1882-94. [page 609]
PRICE, DAVID C., dentist, b. in Lyons, N.Y., Aug. 28l, 18728; d. in St. Paul, Jan. 12, 1901. He settled in St. Paul in 18l54. [page 616]
RICHARDSON, NATHAN, lawyer, b. in Clyde N.Y., Feb. 24, 1829; d. in Little Falls, Minn., Jan. 9, 1908. He came to Minnesota in 1854, and the next year located at Little Falls, which then contained only three log houses. He was for many years register of deeds, and later judge of probate, for Morrison county; for about ten years was postmaster of Little Falls; and was a representative in the legislature in 1867, 1872, and 1878. [page 640]
SIMONS, ORLANDO, judge, b. In Lyons, N.Y., Jan. 18, 1824; d. in St. Paul, Nov. 9, 1890. He was educated at Elmira Academy, N.Y.; studied law; settled in St. Paul in 1849; was elected justice of the peace the next year; was judge of the Second judicial district, 18l76-90. [page 705]
UNDERWOOD, JOSEPH MERRITT, b. in Palmyra, N.Y., Nov. 10, 1844; came to Minnesota in 1862; and settled in Lake City in 1868; has since engaged in nursery business; was president of the Horticultural Society, 1892-9, and of the Agricultural Society, 1910. [page 800]
VAN INGEN, JOHN V., Episcopal clergyman, b. in Schenectady, N.Y., in 1806; d. in Clyde, N.Y., Dec. 1, 1877. He was graduated at Union College, 1828; studied theology in New York; settled in St. Paul as rector of Christ church in 1854; was chaplain of the Eighth N.Y. cavalry in the civil war.[page 806]
WESTFALL, WILSON P., b. in Newark, N.Y., in 1833; d. in St. Paul, June 3, 1885. He engaged in banking in Minneapolis several years; removed to St. Paul in 1877, where he represented a life insurance company. [page 841]
NEW 5/10/14 This brief synopsis of Asa J. Dana's ministerial career comes from Cyclopaedia of Biblical, Theological and Ecclesiastical Literature, Volume 12, by John McClintock and James Strong. New York: Harper & Bros., 1891.
Dana, Asa J., a Methodist Episcopal minister, was born at Pultneyville, Ontario County, N.Y., March 24, 1820. He was converted in his twelfth year; received license to exhort in 1838, to preach in 1839, and the same year united with the Oneida Conference, where in he labored zealously till his death, Oct. 5, 1857. [page 230]
NEW 5/10/14 John Scott's biographical sketch comes from An Illustrated History of Lyon County, Minnesota, by Arthur P. Rose. Worthington, Minn,: Northern History Publishing Company, 1912.
JOHN SCOTT (1872) is a homesteader of Sodus township and one of the oldest settlers of that precinct, having lived on the one place an even forty years. In common with other pioneers of Lyon county, Mr. Scott endured many hardships in the days when the festive grasshopper harvested the grain and the fierce winter storms swept the unbroken prairies.
Our subject was born in Wayne county, New York, March 27, 1852, and he descends from an old New York family. His parents were Charles and Delia (Shaw) Scott. The father died when John was three years old, and soon thereafter he accompanied his mother to Michigan, where he was educated and grew to manhood. In 1872 Mr. Scott came to Lyon county and took as a homestead the southeast quarter of section 24. Sodus township, on which farm he has ever since resided.
Mr. Scott was married in Marshall August 23, 1875, to Mary A. Lewis. She was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, August 12, 1853,. and is a member of one of the pioneer families of Minnesota. Her parents, Lewis D. and Jane (Davis) Lewis, came from Wales in an early day and made their home at Pittsburgh. They settled in Blue Earth county, Minnesota, in 1857, and members of the family participated in the Sioux War of 1862. Mrs. Scott's father was wounded by the Indians, and an uncle, James Edwards, met his death at the hands of the redskins.
Mr. and Mrs. Scott have four children, all married. They are as follows: Lewis, of Custer township; Jane, the wife of Henry Edwards; Irwin, of Sodus township; Mabel, the wife of Charles Edwards, of Custer township. [page 269]
NEW 5/10/14 Captain E. M. Allen's detailed biographical sketch comes from Portrait and Biographical Album of Ionia and Montcalm Counties, Mich. Chicago: Chapman Bros, 1891.
CAPT. E. M. ALLEN is a gentleman of marked military talents of no mean order, and in the late Civil War he had an opportunity of developing this disposition. His family were of long standing and high renown and as we trace back their history we find them full of patriotism, struggling for the freedom of their country in the Revolutionary War. At successive periods they are always found loyal to their country. Their devoted ambition to home and native land as a matter of coursei descended to the son, and we naturally find him acting with great singleness of purpose and zeal in his various positions as an officer in the Civil War.
Capt. Allen was the only son of Peter and Jane (Maynard) Allen and was born in Williamson, Wayne County, N. Y., November 18, 1840. The home of the father of Capt. Allen was during slavery days a depot for the underground railroad and when the Captain was a boy he carried fugitives to Pultneyville, a little port on Lake Ontario from which they sailed to Canada. His ancestors were from Dutchess County, where they were loyal and liberal supporters of the American cause in the Revolution. The paternal great-grandfather of Capt. Allen during the Revolution loaned the Government money to aid in sustaining it, which was never paid back to him, while his maternal grandfather was a soldier in the War of 1812.
E. M. Allen was reared on a farm but was more anxious to secure an education than to do the drudgery of farm labor, hence took an active interest in his studies. At seventeen years of age he became a teacher in a district school in Ingham County, Mich., but after the first winter returned to New York, where he attended the Marion Collegiate Institute. He was here a pupil and teacher in all more than four years, alternating attendance with teaching to enable him to meet expenses. He was engaged in this school as teacher when the war broke out. While pursuing his studies in the Sophomore Class, at his country's call he bade goodbye to his school and in October, 1861, enlisted in Company I, Ninety-eighth New York Infantry. He served through the war and was discharged with the rank of Captain of the same company in which he enlisted.
At the organization of the company he was elected Second, then First Lieutenant and subsequently promoted to the Captaincy. He was with his company with McClellan in the Peninsular campaign and after this was ended was sent to North and South Carolina, where he served until 1864, when they were sent to the Department of the James. He marched with tne Eighteenth Corps to meet Grant at Cold Harbor, and was engaged in the siege of Petersburg, participated in the fight at the mine and crossed the James with Butler to attack the defences on the north side of the river; was wounded in the charge upon and capture of Ft. Harrison. His was one of the very first regiments to enter Richmond and it was Adjutant J. K. R. Oakley of his regiment who first raised the Stars and Stripes over the State House in Virginia, and although history gives the honor elsewhere, the truth is, his regimental flag was taken down and replaced by another - after the order of Americus Vespucius' usurpation of the name of Columbia.
At the close of the war, like Cincinnatus, Capt. Allen returned to the plow and was engaged in farming when he was elected Superintendent of Schools for one half of Wayne County, N. Y., having charge of one hundred and four districts, a position which he held for six years. In 1874 he came to Portland, Mich., where in connection with Mr. Maynard he commenced the banking business under the firm name of Maynard & Allen, which business still continues.
While at home on a furlough, November 29, 1863, Mr. Allen was married to Miss Annie C., daughter of Robert and Electa Smith, of Williamson, Wayne County, N. Y. This union has been blessed by the birth of three children - Winifred, now wife of A. V. Bell, of Seattle, Wash.; Gertrude and Clifton.
Capt. Allen is a Royal Arch Mason, of Portland Lodge, No. 32, and a member of John Megerrah Post, G. A. R. of which he has been Commander and in which he takes great interest. His wife and himself are members of the Methodist Church. Politically he is a stanch as well as active Republican. Nearly every campaign finds him on the "stump" in the interests of his party. He has always and uniformly refused office of any kind since coming to Michigan, and is of a jovial and hospitable nature. His estimable wife vies with her husband in making their home a pleasant place. [pages 650-651]
NEW 5/10/14 James B. Drake's biographical sketch comes from Portrait and Biographical Album of Ionia and Montcalm Counties, Mich. Chicago: Chapman Bros, 1891.
JAMES B. DRAKE. One of the most prominent citizens of Easton Township is the gentleman above named, who resides on section 18, and cultivates a pleasant expanse of sixty acres of land. He is identified in various ways with the best interests of Ionia County, is at present bearing a part in its civic affairs, and is quite widely known and universally esteemed. His farm is one on which every necessary building has been erected and such arrangements made for sowing and reaping as show that the owner possesses progressive ideas and a worthy ambition.
Mr. Drake is the only son of Philemon and Caroline (Miller) Drake, and was born in Wayne County, N. Y., May 4, 1844. He grew to manhood on his father's farm and obtained his education in the common schools. When but eighteen years old, in August, 1862, he entered the Union army, being enrolled in Company D, One Hundred and Thirty-Eighth New York Infantry. After a short time the command was merged into the Ninth New York Heavy Artillery under command of Col. W. H. Seward, Jr., son of the renowned Secretary Seward. Young Drake took part in the siege of Petersburg, the battle of Cold Harbor, and numerous skirmishes of greater or less importance, together with the usual round of camp duties. While in the army he contracted a chronic infirmity from which he still suffers, and on account of which he is in receipt of a pension of $6 per month. His war record is that of an earnest, enthusiastic patriot, valorous in action, cheerful under privation and ready in obedience.
When discharged from the army Mr. Drake returned to his native State, whence he came to Michigan about 1878. Deciding upon Ionia County as the scene of his future operations he made a home in Otisco Township, but removed to his present location in the spring of 1885. His property here has accrued from his industrious and arduous labors and is a standing monument to his perseverance and integrity.
The wife who shares the home of Mr. Drake gave him her hand in New York on the 17th of August, 1860. She bore the maiden name of Mary C. Drake and is a daughter of John and Armeda Drake, who are now living in Shiawassee County, this State. The union has been blest by the birth of three children, who are named Carrie L., Nellie W., and Gertie. They have been given the best advantages their parents could compass and the oldest is now using her talents as a school teacher. They form an interesting group, whose society is enjoyed and who are important factors in the life of the neighborhood.
The highest office within the gift of the citizens of Easton Township is that in which Mr. Drake is now serving his third term. The fact of his successive re-elections proves that as Supervisor he give satisfaction to his constituency regardless of party affiliations. His own vote is generally cast with the Democrats and on the party ticket he was a candidate for County Treasurer in the fall of 1890 but was defeated by Charles Brown, Republican. Mr. Drake is identified with the Grand Army Post of Ionia, and with the Ancient Order Of United Workmen. In all business transactions he is honorable and just, and he therefore enjoys the confidence of all with whom he has dealings and they likewise recognize his capacity for affairs. He and his wife are hospitable, abound with neighborly kindness, and have the true, public spirit. [pages 479-480]
NEW 5/10/14 Ansel A. Crane's biographical sketch comes from Portrait and Biographical Album of Ionia and Montcalm Counties, Mich. Chicago: Chapman Bros, 1891.
ANSEL A. CRANE. There are few men now living in Ionia County whose personal reminiscences of the pioneer work done here and the mode of life in the early days, are more vivid than those of Mr. Crane, whose portrait appears on the opposite page. His home is on section 32, Lyons Township, and he was the first settler in that vicinity. He selected his land when there was only an Indian trail to follow into the forest, and when wild animals of various kinds, including bears, wolves, deer and turkeys were numerous thereabouts, some of them proving troublesome and dangerous neighbors. Mr. Crane has been the owner of considerable land but has sold off, retaining only his original eighty acres. At present he gives his attention to general farming, but he formerly handled a great deal of fine stock and was one of the leading breeders in this part of the State. Animals from his farm were to be seen at all the fairs and the blue ribbon fell to them more than once. Mr. and Mrs. Crane also shipped large quantities of butter, principally to Chicago, and they still continue the dairy business. The grandfather of our subject was Zebina Crane, a native of New Jersey and a farmer by occupation. His son, Obadiah the direct progenitor of our subject, was born in the same State and followed the same occupation as his father. The mother of our subject, Lydia Dexter, was born and reared in New York and her father, George Dexter, was a native of Connecticut and a blacksmith by trade. She came to Oakland County, this State in an early day but afterward came to the home of her son and lived with him until her death when fifty-seven years of age. The parental family included thirteen children, ten of whom lived to be adults and nine now survive.
The subject of this biographical sketch was born in Wayne County, N. Y., January 7, 1826, and was the first-born of his parents. He started out in the world for himself at the early age of twelve years, working for his board and clothes until he was fitted to earn wages. He then worked by the month, still in the East until 1845, when he came to this State. He made his home in Pontiac for a time, working on a farm by the month. He then chopped wood in Lansing, cutting timber that stood in the streets of that place, and he also drove cattle and hauled logs there. Thence he came to Grand River, Ionia County, and during the winter labored as a woodsman near the county seat. He was not of age when he bought the farm upon which he now resides. It was timber land, devoid of improvement and it was necessary for the new owner to begin at the beginning in bringing it under cultivation. He built a little shanty in which he kept "bach" a year, and he then secured a companion in a true-hearted and energetic young woman, who became his wife December 7, 1848.
The bride of Mr. Crane was Sarah D. Way, who was born in Canada and brought to this State when seven years old. Her parents - William and Mary (Honeywell) Way were natives of Dutchess County, N. Y., and Canada respectively Their family consisted of twelve children - Sarah being the fourth in order of birth. Five daughters and one son are now living. Housekeeping was begun by Mr. and Mrs. Crane in a fashion much more common among pioneers than is perhaps realized by those who are accustomed to modern conveniences. Their dwelling was 10x12 feet, with a stick and clay chimney and one window. The furniture it contained was three chairs with board bottoms, a table made by fastening a board against the wall, and a bedstead formed of poles, also attached to the wall. The young husband worked his land with oxen. He had paid $2 per acre for the tract.
To Mr. and Mrs. Crane there came five children, of whom we make the following mention: Ellen, wife of James Cramer, lives in Belding; Albert A., who was graduated at Lansing in 1876, is a prominent banker and lawyer in Otsego County, Mich., and agent for the Michigan Central Railroad Company; Oscar T. is farming in Lyons Township; Theron E. died of diptheria when seven years and six months old; Eva M. is the wife of James Root and lives in Lyons Township.
The first Presidential vote cast by Mr. Crane was for Zachary Taylor. He has used his influence for the Republican party at almost every election and has been an active political worker. The year that Grover Cleveland was elected President he voted with the Prohibitionists and was a candidate for Representative, missing the election by but a small number of votes. He has, however, returned to the Republican ranks. Since he was first entitled to the right of suffrage he has never failed to deposit his ballot on election day. He is President of the Patrons of Industry. He was for many years School Director and was one of the chief instruments in the building of the first schoolhouse in the neighborhood. He has also been School Collector. Both Mr. and Mrs. Crane belong to the Society of Friends and he has charge of the congregation in Crane District, which is a branch of the Quaker Church in Hudson, Lenawee County, Mich. He has for years been Superintendent of the Sunday-school. Mrs. Crane is as well known in this locality as her husband, as she has lived for fifty-one years on the farm that is now her home, or within three miles of it. Her services in the neighborhood in times of sickness and affliction have been valued and she has a warm place in the hearts of the people. [page 405-406; there is a full-page image of him on the plate preceding the sketch.]
NEW 5/10/14 This brief listing of DeWitt Proseus' ministerial career comes from Alumni Record of Drew Theological Seminary, 1867-1905, by the Drew Theological Seminary Alumni Association. S. G. Ayres (Armstrong & Co., New York), 1906.
357. DeWitt Proseus. - Was born at Sodus, N. Y., 1867; attended Cazenovia Seminary; Drew Theological Seminary, 1898-99; entered the Central New York Conference, 1892; appointments; '92, '93, Italy, N. Y.; '94, East Palmyra, N. Y.; '95-'97, Benton's Center, N. Y.; '98, '99, at school; 1900, Conquest, N. Y.; '01, Mainesburg, Pa.; '02-'04, missionary to South America; '05, returned to his Conference. [page 556]
NEW 5/10/14 This information about Albert Charles Lux was found in the Quindecennial Report, by Yale University's Class of 1888. Published by The Class in 1904.
Class of 1888
ALBERT CHARLES LUX continues in the newspaper business. He is prominent in democratic politics, was president of Clyde in 1890 and special agent of the Erie Canal in 1891-2. He is a member of Zenobia Commandery, K. T., of Palmyra; of Griswold Chapter, R. A. M., and Clyde Lodge, F. and A. M. He belongs to the Presbyterian Church. Clyde, N.Y. [pages 96-97]
NEW 5/10/14 Jesse D. Van Fleet's biographical sketch comes from North Dakota History and People: Outlines of American History, Volume 2, by Clement Augustus Lounsberry. Chicago: The S. J. Clarke publishing company, 1917.
JESSE D. VAN FLEET.
Jesse D. Van Fleet, a resident of Minot, is engaged in the undertaking business. He was born in Wayne county, New York, April 6, 1858, a son of Peter B. and Rachel M. (Devoe) Van Fleet, who were also natives of Wayne county, New York. The father was a contractor and builder who died about 1910, when eighty-two years of age. His wife passed away in 1907, when about seventy-eight years of age. Their family numbered five children, of whom Jesse D. was the third in order of birth. Having acquired a high school education at Fair Haven, New York. he attended the seminary at Red Creek, New York, but left school at the age of seventeen years and obtained employment in a sash and door factory, spending about four years in thoroughly learning and mastering the business. Later he was employed for about two years in a store and then went to Portland, Oregon. He became foreman in a large sash and door factory in that city, where he remained for three years, after which he returned to New York and purchased an interest in the store in which he had previously been employed, spending three years in that connection. He next went to St. Paul, Minnesota, where he purchased an interest in the Jackson Street Fish Company, continuing in the business for three years.
It was then that Mr. Van Fleet came to North Dakota, making his way to Larimore, where for ten years he was in the employ ol Warner & Stoltz, lumber merchants. He then engaged in the lumber and fuel business in Larimore and also conducted an undertaking establishment. Later he turned his attention to the real estate business, in which he remained until his removal to Minot in 1908. For three years, or until April, 1911, he conducted a real estate office in Minot and then purchased the C. J. Wegan undertaking business, which he has carried on successfully since. He also owns a fine farm of five hundred acres at Larimore and its rental brings to him a substantial income. He is likewise a stockholder in the Thompson Malted Food Company at Waukesha, Wisconsin, but devotes the greater part of his time to his undertaking business and to care of his lands. He is a member of the Undertakers Association of North Dakota and is now serving a second term as vice president of the state board of embalmers, having been appointed by Governor Hanna, July 10. 1916, for a second four years term.
In 1878 Mr. Van Fleet married Miss Jennie Case, who was born near Auburn, Cayuga county, New York. Their children were: Ralph, who was born in 1887 and died at Larimore, North Dakota, in 1895; Frank, who is assistant cashier of the National Bank of Larimore; Clifford, who died in 1883, at the age of fourteen months, while the family were living at Portland, Oregon; Kitty, the wife of A. F. McLean. general agent in North Dakota for the National Life Insurance Company and a resident of Minot; and Peter B., who died in 1907 at the age of seventeen years. The wife and mother passed away April 21, 1892, and on the 28th day of June, 1894, Mr. Van Fleet wedded Mrs. John Stevens, who was born at Chatfield, Minnesota, and became one of the early residents of North Dakota. She was the widow of John Stevens, by whom she had a son, J. Floyd, who was educated at Cornell University and is now a professor in the State University at Grand Forks.
Mr. Van Fleet holds membership in the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in which he nas passed through all the chairs. His political faith is that of the progressive republicans. He takes a most active part in the work of the Presbyterian church, in which he has served as an elder for a quarter of a century. For a number of years he has been at the head of the home missionary department of his church and is looking after the funds coming to the board for supplying new churches. In fact he takes a most deep interest in all departments of the church work and docs everything in his power to further moral progress. He has always felt with Lincoln that there is something better than making a living making a life." [page 163]
George H. Lindsay and William Tillotson's biographical sketches come from Memoirs of Lenawee county, Michigan, Vol. II, by Richard Illenden Bonner. Madison, Wisconsin: Western Historical Association, 1909.
George H. Lindsay, a prominent agriculturist of the township of Fairfield, is a native of Palmyra, N. Y. He was born Aug. 26, 1857, a son of Joseph and Susan (Scott) Lindsay, natives of the Emerald Isle, who emigrated to the New World in an early day, locating first in New York city and later at Palmyra, N. Y. In 1861 they came West and settled on a farm in Palmyra township, this county, subsequently removing into Fairfield township, where the father followed agricultural pursuits up to the time of his demise, in September, 1903, and the mother passed away one year later, in September, 1904. Eight children were born to this worthy couple: Anna, the wife of John Hill, of Weston; Clara, now Mrs. Andrew Barnaby, of Adrian; William, a resident of Oceana county, Michigan; George H., of this sketch; and Fannie, Charles, Archie and Asa, deceased. George H. Lindsay acquired his educational training in the district schools of Palmyra township. He worked on his father's farm until he attained his majority, and then started out for himself. He was frugal and saved most of his hard-earned wages during this period, and in 1894 he purchased a farm of eighty acres in Fairfield, upon which he today resides. By carrying on an extensive system of drainage and fertilization he has greatly increased the productiveness of the soil and has so improved the buildings that today he has what would in common parlance be termed an up-to-date farm. He operates a modern dairy and does general farming, and also owns and operates a finely equipped threshing outfit, with which he threshes the grain of many of his neighbors every fall. He is a Republican in politics, but has never been an aspirant for public office. Fraternally he belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, lodge No. 481, of Jasper, and the Fairfield Grange, No. 278. He was united in matrimony to Miss Cora C. Beavor, daughter of Frank and Cynthia (Wheeler) Beavor, on Jan. 1, 1879. Both of these parents were natives of the Empire State and migrated in an early day to Ohio, where for several years the father pursued the occupation of farming. Later they removed to Palmyra township, this county, locating upon a farm which continued to be their place of residence for many years. In 1890, after the death of his wife, he moved to his farm, which is now owned by his daughter, Nina Beavor, in Fairfield township, and there he spent his last days. He participated in the Civil war as a soldier in the Union army and was a member of the Grand Army of the Republic and the Order of Grangers. In politics he was ever a loyal adherent of the Republican party. He died Feb. 5, 1905, and his wife passed away Dec. 19, 1884. To Mr. and Mrs. Beavor were born the following children: Francis, deceased ; Nina, who is farming in Fairfield township; Cora, the wife of the subject of this review; and Arthur, who is in the freight department of the Lake Shore railroad, at Adrian. Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Lindsay: LaVerne, now manager of his father's farm and a resident of Fairfield township; Francis, deceased; Maude, the wife of Myron Brown, a farmer in Fairfield; and Franklin, who is at home. [page 487]
William Tillotson is a substantial farmer of Medina township, where he has been a resident for a number of years, and the success which has crowned his efforts in life is evidenced by the prosperous aspect of his surroundings. He was born at Arcadia, Wayne county, New York, June 10, 1851, the son of Randolph and Elizabeth (Avery) Tillotson, both of whom were also natives of the Empire State. The father was a farmer by occupation and spent his entire life in the state of his nativity, dying in 1854, when his son, the subject of this review, was but three years old. There were eleven children in the family, of which William was the youngest, and the mother reared them and lived to see them all useful and respected members of society. She died about 1877, and of the children five are now living. William Tillotson received his education in the district schools of Wayne county, New York, and after migrating to Lenawee county in early life also spent one year in the Adrian public schools. He then became an apprentice at the carriage painting trade, and after thoroughly mastering the details followed that occupation for a period of eighteen years. Two years of this time were spent in Goshen, Ind., and during the last eight years that he followed his trade he was located at Morenci for six years and then two years in Tecumseh. In 1885 he purchased a farm of fifty-two acres of the old Williams estate, where he lived until in 1902, when he purchased ninety acres of land from Mrs. Zimmerman in Medina township, and upon it he has built a beautiful home and other buildings and made many notable improvements. He follows general farming and dairying, having twenty Holstein cattle in his herd. Mr. Tillotson is decidedly independent in his political views, supporting the men and measures that meet his conscientious approval regardless of party name or political prejudice, and his religious faith is expressed by membership in the Episcopal church at Fayette, Ohio. He is also a member of the Grange at Lime Creek, and in every way keeps abreast of the advanced ideas in farming. On Oct. 6, 1875, occurred the marriage of Mr. Tillotson to Miss Rose Jones, daughter of Nathaniel and Sally (Acker) Jones, of Medina township, and to this union have been born four children, all of whom reside at home with their parents: Linette, Clyde, Rudolph and Donald. The father of Mrs. Tillotson was born in Ohio and the mother in the state of New York. Upon coming west they first located in Fulton county, Ohio, but later took up their residence in Morenci. Finally they removed to Medina township, where they purchased a farm, and Mr. Jones followed agricultural pursuits until his death, in July, 1900. He was a Republican in his political belief, and a worthy member of the Grand Army of the Republic. The mother still survives and she makes her home with her son-in-law and daughter, Mr. and Mrs. Tillotson. [page 476]
Pliny T. Sextons's biographical sketch comes from Who's who in finance, banking, and insurance, Volume 2. New York: Who's Who in Finance, Inc., 1922.
SEXTON, Pliny Titus, Palmyra, N. Y.
Lawyer, banker; b. Palmyra. N. Y., June 12, 1840: s. Pliny and Hannah (Van Alstine) Sexton; ed, in Palmyra Classical Union School, private schools, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, State and National Law School, Poughkeepsle, N. Y., LLv B., 1859; received LL. D. from Union Univ., 1893; m. Palmyra. N. Y., 1860, Harriet Hyde. Admitted to New York bar 1861, and U. S. Supreme Court 1882. Pres. and dir. since 1876 of First National Bank of Palmyra, N. Y. Pres. of village of Palmyra, 1879-83; pres. Palmyra Board of Edn., 1883-89; Republican candidate for State treas., 1883; regent of Univ. of State of New York since 1890, and its Chancellor Emeritus since 1921; procured appropriation and authority for University Extension work by Univ. of State of New York, being the first legislation on the subject In the United States; honorary chancellor of Union Univ., 1893. Member American Library Assn., New York State Historical Assn., New York State Bar Assn., American Bar Assn., Assn. of the Bar of the City of New York. Mason. Recreation: Cross-country rambling. Pres. Union Club of Palmyra. Republican. Quaker.
Frederick S. Todd's biography comes from History of Rochester and Monroe county, New York: from the earliest historic times to the beginning of 1907, Volume 2, by William Farley Peck. Chicago: The Pioneer Publishing Company, 1908.
FREDERICK S. TODD.
Frederick S. Todd, who has long since left the ranks of the many to stand among the successful few, is engaged in the manufacture of shoes at No. 175 North Water street and his business is one of those enterprises which has contributed to Rochester's splendid reputation as a center for shoe manufacture. Born in Williamson, Wayne county, New York, on the 29th of June, 1865, he is a son of William H. and Harriet L. (Sweeting) Todd, who were likewise natives of this state, being reared at Williamson and at Pultneyville respectively. The paternal grandfather, Dr. Todd, was a native of Cooperstown, whence he removed to Pultneyville. He lived upon a farm but engaged in the practice of medicine. His death occurred when he was eighty-four years of age, while his wife was more than ninety years of age at the time of her demise. The maternal grandfather, Rufus Sweeting, was a native of New York, living in Ontario, Wayne county, where he conducted a blast furnace. He married a Miss Tucker, who died when past middle life, while Mr. Sweeting was drowned at the age of sixty-four years. They were the parents of two children: Mrs. Todd, the mother of our subject: and Emily A. Sweeting, now residing in Watervliet, Michigan.
William H. Todd followed general merchandising at Williamson in early life and afterward removed to Fairport, where he continued in the same line of business. Although he was not drafted for service in the Civil war he paid a man to go to the front as his substitute, for his health was too poor to allow him to take active part in field service. He died in Fairport in 1874 at the age of thirty-nine years and his wife now makes her home in Rochester, where she has lived for the past fourteen years. They were the parents of two sons and one daughter.
Frederick S. Todd, whose name forms the caption of this review, was reared in Fairport. where he attended the public schools. He then began clerking and keeping books in a grocery store in Fairport, in which employ he remained for three years, when he established a retail enterprise on his own account, conducting the same for five years. During the succeeding year he was secretary of the Fairport Shoe Company and subsequently formed a partnership as a member of the firm of Harding & Todd, shoe manufacturers of Rochester. This connection was continued for seven years, when a new company was organized under the name of Todd, Bancroft & Company, having an existence of three years. The firm as then changed to the Fred S. Todd Company, of which Mr. Todd of this review is president. The business was incorporated a number of years ago and has been developed along safe, substantial lines, making it one of the extensive enterprises of western New York. They employ about four hundred people in the production of a good class of shoes and the output is sent to all parts of the United States. The company are ever fair and just in their treatment of employes, pay a good living wage and reward faithful service by promotion as opportunity offers. In the conduct of the enterprise they have ever recognized the old adage that "honesty is the best policy" and that "there is no excellence without labor." Upon these foundation stones they have builded their success and the house is now enjoying a most gratifying patronage.
On the 3d of September," 1903, Mr. Todd was married to Miss Lydia Strong Kenyon, a daughter of Rinaldo S. and Sophia (Strong) Kenyon. They have two children, Harriet Kenyon and Frederick. Mrs. Todd is a member of St. Paul's Episcopal church and Mr. Todd also attends its services. Politically he is a republican and fraternally is connected with Yonnondio lodge, F. & A. M., and Hamilton chapter, R. A. M., exemplifying in his life the beneficent spirit of the craft, which is based upon mutual helpfulness and brotherly kindness. [page 1021]
Franklin Clarke's biographical sketch comes from History of old Vincennes and Knox County, Indiana, Volume 2, by George E. Greene. Chicago: S. J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1911.
Franklin Clarke was one of the pioneer representatives of industrial activity in Vincennes and through long years was the promoter of various business enterprises which contributed in large and substantial measure to the growth and upbuilding of this city. Thus he left the indelible impress of his individuality upon Vincennes where his name is yet honored and his memory cherished. He was born in Sodus Center, Wayne county, New York, January 9, 1832, and was descended from an old New England family which settled in Massachusetts in the early part of the seventeenth century. New England, perhaps, more than any other section of the country, early had high regard for the value of education, and Mr. Clarke, like other youths of that district, was carefully trained in the elementary branches of learning. He was seventeen years of age when he was regularly apprenticed to the machinist's trade, serving a four years' term of indenture in the town of Lyons, Wayne county, New York. He became quite proficient during that period and for several years thereafter was employed as a machinist in Richmond, Virginia, where he assisted in building the engines for some of the vessels afterward used in the Civil war. He left the Old Dominion to become a resident of Indiana in April, 1857, which month witnessed his arrival in Vincennes. Here he resided continuously until his death, with the exception of two or three years passed in the south during the war between the two sections of the country. He was employed as a machinist by the Ohio & Mississippi Railroad Company until about 1862.
Mr. Clarke became a pioneer in industrial operations in Vincennes when, in 1864, he joined Mr. H. A. Buck and a Mr. Chapman in building the Wabash Valley Foundry and Machine Shop. His was the first home establishment of the kind in this city and was a valuable addition to the enterprises of the town and to southern Indiana. The new undertaking was successfully conducted, becoming an important feature in promoting the commercial progress of Vincennes. It did not, however, encompass the scope of Mr. Clarke's activities, for he became connected with various business enterprises, being at the time of his death the owner of the Vincennes Calorific Brick Works, and the general manager and a stockholder of the Prospect Hill Coal Company. He was recognized as a man of judgment and high character. He was essentially a self-made man, his success being due to his exceptional industry, nerve and perseverance.
In 1863 occurred the marriage of Mr. Clarke and Miss Alice Judah, who survives her husband. They became the parents of three children, but a daughter, Mamie, died in childhood. Franklin, who died in early manhood, at the outset of a promising career, left a wife, who in her maidenhood was Minnie Kelly, and a daughter, Lucinda, now in school. The surviving son, Brandon Clarke, married Mabel Purcell.
Mr. Clarke was a prominent member of the Masonic fraternity which he joined in 1857, advancing through the various degrees of the York Rite until he became a Knight Templar. The interests and companionship of his Masonic association were among the most cherished of his life. His political faith was that of the republican party and in 1875 he was chosen a member of the city council to which he was again and again reelected until the period of his service covered twenty-three years, and the municipal legislation of the city was largely shaped through his efforts. During this long period he acquired an extensive experience in civil affairs and by the faithful performance of his duty won the confidence of the best men of both parties. In manner he was modest and unassuming and at all times kindly obliging. He had a genial sense of humor which ever made him a welcome companion: a stalwart integrity that made him an honored associate in business circles and a public spirit that made him one of the most valued of Vincennes' citizens. His strict integrity and honesty of purpose led him to despise all unworthy or questionable means to secure success in any undertaking, either for the welfare of the city or for his own advancement.
"His life was noble, and the elements
So mixed in him that Nature might stand up
And say to all the word, 'This was a man.'" [page 33]
Hiram Bement's biographical sketch comes from History of La Porte County, Indiana: Together with Sketches of Its Cities, Villages, and Townships. Chicago: Chas. C. Chapman & Co., 1880.
Hiram Bement was born in 1833 in Wayne county, N. Y., and is the son of Hiram and Sarah Bement; the former was born in Vermont, July 24, 1796, and the latter in New Hampshire, March 15, 1798; they came to this tp. in 1834, landing at Michigan City; he died in 1874, and she in 1862, both in this tp. Hiram, Jr., the subject of this sketch, occupies the old homestead, where he commenced life in limited circumstances, but has been successful in business; he now owns the entire homestead, 240 acres, sec. 15. He first married Miss Lavina Spalding, who was born in Berrien county, Mich., in 1843, and they had 1 child, Maud. He again married in March, 1879, this time Miss Harriet Warner, who was born in this county in 1842. His brother Orin served about one year in Co. C, 35th Ind. Inf. P. O., Hesston. [page 698]
Two biographical sketches of former Wayne County residents from An Illustrated History of the Counties of Rock and Pipestone, Minnesota, by Arthur P. Rose. Worthington, Minn,: Northern History Publishing Company, 1911.
GEORGE W. NASH (1880) has held the office of register of deeds of Pipestone county continuously since his first election to the office in the fall of 1894. He is one of the early settlers of the county, dating his residence from September, 1880, at which time he was stationed by the Omaha railroad as the second agent at their station of Woodstock. That position he held for twelve years, until 1892, when he engaged in the farm implement business at Woodstock. He was engaged in that business until elected to the office he now holds.
A native of Wayne county, New York, George W. Nash of this review was born October 3, 1849, the son of John and Jerusha A. (Johnson) Nash, both of whom were also New Yorkers by birth. His mother died fifteen days after George was born and his father died in 1869. By a second married John Nash had two sons, one of whom, Oscar Nash, of Monroe county, New York, is still living.
George passed the first twenty-three years of his life in the county of his birth. He then cast his eyes westward and located at Monticello, Iowa, where he learned the telegrapher's trade. He was for several years assistant station agent at Langworthy and Sand Springs, Iowa, and then made his advent to Minnesota, accepting a position as assistant agent with the railroad company at East Henderson. Blue Earth City was his last home before settling in Woodstock.
Mr. Nash was married in Wayne county, New York, on February 17, 1876, to Emma D. Fish, also a native of that county. They are the parents of three children: Thaddeus E., cashier of the Pipestone State Bank; Adah A. and Pearl A. Mr. Nash belongs to the Blue Lodge and the Chapter of the Masonic order, and is also a member of the A. O. U. W. lodge. [page 683]
H. C. GLOVER (1886), a resident of Pipestone county for a quarter century, owns and farms the northeast quarter and the east half of the northwest quarter of section 27, Rock township upon which he has lived since 1901. For most of the improvements on his farm Mr. Glover is directly responsible. He raises considerable stock, especially throughbred (sic) Shropshire sheep, and engages extensively in dairying.
The birthplace of our subject is Wayne county, New York, where on May 20, 1867, he first beheld the things of this earth. He was five years of age when death called his father, Conklin Glover, a farmer and a native of Long Island, New York. His mother, Sarah (Perkins) Glover, who died in June, 1901, was born in Wayne County.
Mr. Glover was reared on a farm and educated in the district schools of Wayne county, which continued to be his home until 1886. On March 17 of that year he arrived in Pipestone county. He attended the Pipestone high school for a time, and for four years was employed on the farm of C. E. Cunningham in Sweet township. For two years he was absent from the state, farming the while near Woodlake, Nebraska. He returned to Pipestone county and until his marriage was employed on the Cunningham farm. For one summer he resided in the city of Pipestone and did carpenter work, then rented land in Troy, which he farmed seven years, moving from there to his own farm in Rock township. Mr. Glover holds membership in the Woodstock Presbyterian church.
At Pipestone, on April 12, 1893, the subject of this sketch was joined in marriage to Annie Masek, who was born at Marshalltown, Iowa, October 9, 1874. Mr. and Mrs. Glover are the parents of the following ten children: Laura Belle, born March 5, 1894; Grace Jennie, born October 28, 1895; Harold Emery, born August 9, 1897; Walter Wallace, born August 27, 1899; Nellie Rose, born July 26, 1901; Edward Arthur and Herbert Homan (twins), born May 26, 1903; Ralph Cecil, born July 30, 1905; Donald Rollo, born August 5, 1908; and Francis Laverne, born August 21, 1910. [pages 698-699]
A biographical sketch of another Wayne County emigrant to Minnesota, from An Illustrated History of Nobles County, Minnesota, by Arthur P. Rose. Worthington, Minn,: Northern History Publishing Company, 1908.
THEODORE L. MITCHELL, proprietor of a general merchandise store in Worthington, and a dealer in fuel and feed, has resided in the county seat of Nobles county twenty-four years. He was born in Wayne county, N. Y., Dec. 6, 1844, next to the youngest of a family of six children. His parents, Jacob and Catherine (Kniffin) Mitchell, were natives of Wayne county, N.Y., and both died in Oswego county, of the same state, some years ago.
When Theodore Mitchell was one year of age his parents moved to Oswego county, and there he grew to manhood and lived until 1884, when he came to Worthington. After growing to manhood he spent the greater part of his time at railroad steam shoveling work in Oswego county. After coming to Worthington he opened a wholesale butter, egg and fruit house, which he operated about four years. He then went into the mercantile business, later adding fuel and feed to the commodities dealt in, and has since been in that business. His sons, G. E. and T. L., now have an interest in the business.
Mr. Mitchell was married in Richmondville, Schoharie county, N.Y., Nov. 1, 1867, to Mary Rogers, a daughter of Elisha and Mary Rogers, of that county. Mrs. Mitchell died Jan. 19, 1898. To Mr. and Mrs. Mitchell were born five children, as follows: Ernest R., born July 20, 1869, died Dec. 15, 1883; Mamie (Mrs. John Mackay), born Feb. 13, 1871, died Jan. 8, 1896; Glenn E., born at Hannibal, N.Y., July 3, 1875; Nellie (Mrs. Guy Tolls), born at Hannibal, N.Y., Sept. 1, 1879; Theodore L., Jr., born in Worthington Dec. 11, 1885. [page 514]
Ira Ford's biographical sketch comes from a book he himself compiled - History of Northeast Indiana: LaGrange, Steuben, Noble and DeKalb Counties, Volume 2, by Ira Ford. Chicago: Lewis Publishing Company, 1920.
IRA FORD, supervising editor for LaGrange County in the compilation of this publication, has been in close touch with people and events in that county for at least half a century and has lived there since he was about eight years old.
Mr. Ford was born in Wayne County, New York, October 13, 1848, and came with his parents from that county to LaGrange County in April, 1856. His father and mother were Jared and Rebecca Ford, and all of their seven children grew to manhood and womanhood, Ira being the youngest, the only one now living.
Mr. Ira Ford was educated at LaGrange, and beginning when he was twenty years of age taught school in that county. His teaching continued from 1868 until 1881. After that he applied his efforts to farming in Clearspring Township, and he made his farming enterprise notable over the county for his breeding of fine sheep and hogs, and later he became a specialist in the breeding of fine poultry.
For four and a half years Mr. Ford was cashier of the Ellison Bank of Topeka, Indiana. He served as trustee of Clearspring Township from 1882 to 1884. He is president of the Old Settlers Association of LaGrange County, is a stanch republican in politics, is affiliated with Haw Patch Lodge No. 760 of Odd Fellows at Topeka and is an elder in the Presbyterian Chruch at LaGrange.
On February 6, 1873, he married Julia A. Peck, daughter of Hawley and Harriett Peck. Her father came with his family to LaGrange County in 1846 from Wayne County, New York, making the journey be wagons and settling in Clearspring Township. Mrs. Ford was one of twelve children, four of whom are still living. [page 308]
Socrates Smith's biographical sketch comes from History of Monona County, Iowa. Philadelphia: National Publishing Company, 1890.
SOCRATES SMITH, one of the well-known residents of this county, has his home on section 13, Kennebec Township, where he is engaged in general farming and stock-raising. He was born in Lyons, Monroe County (sic), N. Y., May 28, 1813. His father, Ebenezer Smith, a native of Massachusetts, served well and gallantly in the Continental Army during the Revolutionary War, entering the service with his father, Abner Smith, and seven brothers, and served his country four years, the others remaining about a year longer. He was a farmer, miller, and a distiller at the town of Arcadia, in Wayne County, which had formerly been a part of Phelps Town, and died in that locality in 1844. His wife, formerly Miss Sarah Appleton, died in 1865. Abner Smith, the grandfather of our subject, after a long life of usefulness, died in Chester, Mass., reaching the advanced age of one hundred and four years.
When Socrates Smith first left home, on attaining his majority, for about three years he was engaged in horse trading, and then entered into speculating in wheat, and having made a large amount of money easily lost it without much effort. During the years 1847-48, he was engaged in the raising and distilling of peppermint in Wayne County, N.Y., and had one of the finest plants for that purpose in the world. He was the first to use steam tubs, instead of the old fashioned way of boiling by the direct application of heat, thus making the oil quite as clear as water, and raised its price five cents above the market in the English trade. Selling out this factory in the latter part of 1848, in 1849 he went to Carlton, Ky., with Gen. Butler, and bought horses and took them to Montgomery, Columbus and other places, and disposed of them. This business he continued until 1853, when he went onto the plantation of the Widow Chambers, near Montgomery, Ala., and took charge of about one hundred and ten slaves, cotton pickers, and some ninety common field hands. He acted as overseer on this place until 1861, in the meantime running a small plantation of his own which he had purchased with some sixteen blacks. This latter, with the chattels, he sold at the breaking out of the war and started for the North. He had about $2,500 worth of goat and sheepskins and Spanish moss which he shipped to New York, but which, on account of the blockade, never got any further than Savannah, Ga. After selling his horse, saddle and bridle to Alexander H. Stephens for $250, he went to New Orleans and on the steamer "Empress" came to St. Louis. On the way up some parties on the shore ordered them to land, thinking to rob them, but through the persuasions and influence of Mr. Smith and another party, and their being given a hogshead of sugar and two sacks of coffee, the boat was allowed to proceed without molestation. Under the act of 1843, the father of our subject was entitled to one hundred and sixty acres of land and $500 for his service during the Revolution, and after his death is children drew this, assigning the money to their mother and the land to Socrates.
On reaching the North at Keokuk, Mr. Smith walked to Sioux City, where he found employment and after a short time spent at that point and at Yankton, came to Monona County and made a settlement and has here remained ever since.
May 12, 1867, Socrates Smith was united in marriage with Miss Ellen Smith, the daughter of Seth and Sophia (Leach) Smith, the former of whom was a pioneer settler of Grant Township, and of whose life work a sketch appears in the pages of this volume. Mr. and Mrs. Smith are the parents of four children: Euretta, Charles F., Lycurgus D., and Inez.
John Miller's biographical sketch comes from History of Davis County, Iowa. Des Moines, Ia.: Iowa State Historical Company, 1882.
MILLER, JOHN, farmer and stock-raiser, section 22, postoffice Troy; was born July 10, 1823, in Wayne county, N.Y. His ancestors were an old Connecticut family; he was reared and educated in New York, came to Michigan in 1847, and five years later came to Indiana, where he was married in 1852, to Mrs. Patience Austin, a native of New York; she died in 1867, leaving four children by a former husband. In 1869 he located in Union township, this county, and in 1875 he bought the farm he now owns, consisting of 80 acres, well improved. He was married again in 1869, to Mrs. Mary J. Kittleman, a native of Indiana, and this union proving unhappy, they separated, she being granted a decree of divorce the same year, and having a child born soon after separation, Charles Curtis. She died in 1879, and he married his present wife, Miss Paulina Goodson, a native of Indiana, and they have one child, Adam J.; he was in the livery business several years in Indiana, and Ontario, Canada. He is one of the county's good citizens. [page 722]
Two biographical sketches of men born in Wayne County - James Barclay and Mortimore Edwards Beckwith - come from History of La Crosse County, Wisconsin, Chicago: Western Historical Company, 1881.
J. M. BARCLAY, lumberman; has been a resident of La Crosse since November, 1856. He was born in Lyons, Wayne Co., N. Y., in 1822; in the fall of 1853, he removed to La Porte, Ind., and came from there to La Crosse. He is a blacksmith by trade, and, in 1857, he bought a shop in La Crosse, and carried on the business till 1859, then sold out, and, in the summer of 1860, in company with Bantam, built a plow-shop on Third street, opposite the court house, and carried on the business under the firm name of Barclay & Bantam for two years; then sold out his interest and worked one year for the Packet Company, making repairs. He then went to St. Paul and started a shop for the St. Paul & Pacific Railroad Company, and worked there two seasons. In the spring of 1865, he again went into the plow business in company with A. Hirshheimer, who also owned with him a one-half interest in a saw-mill at Lansing, Iowa. In January, 1880, they dissolved partnership, he taking the lumber business and Mr. H. the plow business. Has only one child - John Clayton, now in the lumber business in Lansing, Iowa. Mrs. Barclay was Rhoda S. Congor, of Cortland, N. Y. [page 736]
E. M. BECKWITH, commission merchant and dealer in second-hand goods in Borna's Block, Third street, was born in Wayne Co., N. Y., in 1828; son of Miner (sic) York Beckwith, who moved to Michigan in 1836, and died there in 1855, at the age of 54. E. M. Beckwith learned the ship-carpenter's trade in Milwaukee, Wis., and worked at the business till 1873; was in business for himself in Racine, Wis., from 1850 to 1860, and in Grand Haven, Mich., from 1860 to 1872. In 1873, he was in Duluth, Minn., building dredges for the N. P. R. R. Co. He lived in different places in Minnesota till January, 1881, and since then has been in business in La Crosse. His first wife was Helen Bowman, of Racine, Wis.; she died in 1872, leaving eight children. His second wife was Julia E. Selby, of Blue Earth Co., Minn. [page 736] NOTE: The Beckwiths, by Paul Edmond Beckwith, 1891, page 220 gives his birth year as 1826.
Apollos Searl's biographical profiles comes from The History of Fond du Lac County, Wisconsin, Chicago: Western Historical Company, 1880.
APOLLOS SEARL, farmer, Sec. 5; P. O. Fond du Lac; born in Palmyra, Wayne Co., N. Y., in 1822; son of Mary and Eliphalet Searl, a teamster and farmer, who died in 1824. Mr. Searl went to Jefferson Co., in 1823, then to Lowville and Leydon, both in Lewis Co., N. Y., and, in 1827, returned with his mother to Wayne Co., where he attended the common schools of the place until the age of 14, when he returned to Lowville, living there on a farm until he was 21 years of age; in May, 1849, he came to Byron, and has been a resident of Fond du Lac Co. ever since. He married Philinda Lupher, of Lewis Co., N. Y., March. 1S51; she died in Byron Sept. 14, 1862. He was married to his present wife March 28, 1804, in Byron; maiden name was Harriet E., daughter of Laura and Simon Brown, a farmer of Lowville, Lewis Co., N. Y. Mr. Searl has held the office of Town Treasurer; also been a member of the Town and School Boards. He has had four children by his present wife - Ida C., Emma L., Hattie L., Willie A., and are all members of the Baptist Church. Owns I6O acres of land; probable value, 865 per acre. [Byron Township; page 1023]
Theodore C. Peck's biographical sketch comes from The history of Sauk County, Wisconsin, Chicago: Western Historical Company, 1880.
T. C. PECK, farmer, Sec. 34; P. O. Spring Green; was born Oct. 3, 1825, in Wayne Co., N. Y., where he remained until 1846, when he came to Wisconsin, locating in Newark, Rock Co., where he resided about seven years, at the end of which time he removed to the town of Franklin, this (Sauk) Co.; lived in Franklin one year, then moved to Spring Green, which has been his home since. He married, in Howard, Ill., Miss Mary Colwell; they have eight children - Eva I., their oldest daughter, is the wife of P. Morrison, of Newark, Rock Co., Wis.; Ruth, Mary, Frank E., Lydia, George H., Sylvester and Fred L.; the younger children are all at home. Mr. Peck has, for a number of years, filled the office of District School Treasurer, and has been a member of the Town Board of Supervisors several terms; he owns 280 acres of land, desirably located and well improved. Mr. Peck came to Wisconsin two years prior to its becoming a State; then he had scarcely any of this world's goods, but he came with a determination to win and make for himself a home and competence; how well he has succeeded, is proved by his broad acres in a high state of cultivation and improvement, and the many comforts which surround his home. [page 809]
Belus Shepherd Abrams' biographical sketch comes from The History of Vernon County, Wisconsin, Springfield, Ill.: Union Publishing Company, 1884.
Belus Shepherd Abrams settled on his present farm in the spring of 1870. He was born in Cayuga Co., N. Y., June 5, 1821. He remained there until eighteen years of age, when he removed to Wayne county, in his native State, and engaged in farming, remaining, there until 1856, when he came west to Wisconsin, and entered land in town 12 north, of range 5 west, now in the town of Sterling. Mr. Abrams now owns 200 acres of land, 100 of which are fairly improved, and the other half is in pasture and timber land. He was married, in 1863, to Fannie, widowed wife of Leland Brown, who was a soldier in the late war, and died while in the service. Of late years, Mr. Abrams has rented his land, and a portion of the time has made his home at Boscobel, Grant Co., Wis. Before marriage he was unsettled, and spent a large portion of his time traveling. [page 663] NOTE: In the 1850 census, Belus Abrams resided in the Town of Wolcott in the household of prosperous miller William Abrams. In 1870, Belus and wife Fannie resided in the Town of Sterling, Vernon County.
Lucien Edward Galusha's biographical sketch comes from The History of Carroll County, Illinois, edited by H. F. Kett & Co. Chicago: H. F. Kett & Co., 1878.
GALUSHA, L. E. Farmer; Sec. 15; P.O. Fair Haven; born in Town of Sodus, Wayne Co., N. Y., Sept. 26, 1818; came to this town in Nov., 1844; built the first house in the Tp.; has been Town Clerk about 18 years; was School Treasurer a number of years; has been married twice; first wife was Editha R. Brown, native of Ohio; married in 1843; died in April, 1858; married again to Ella A. Hewett, in June, 1860; she was born in Steuben Co., N. Y., in 1836; has five children by first wife, six by second: Daniel, Elma, Robert, James, Mary, Perry, Alinson, Henry, Emma, Byron and Sarah L. [Fair Haven Township, page 464]
This group of 5 biographical sketches comes from Landmarks of Orleans County, New York, Part II, Biographical, edited by Henry Perry Smith and Hon. Isaac Smith Signor. Syracuse, NY: D. Mason & Company, 1894.
Kennedy, Michael, was born in 1842 in County Tipperary, Ireland, a son of William Kennedy. Michael came to America with his parents in 1849 and settled in Canada, and a year later came to Walworth, Wayne county. March 15, 1862, he enlisted in the 105th and 94th N. Y. Volunteer Infantry and served till the close of the war, participating in the following battles: Cedar Mountain, South Mountain, Antietam and Bull Run; also Chancellorsville and Gettysburg. He was from August 19, 1864, to February 28, 1865, a prisoner at Belle Isle, Libby and Salisbury prisons. He participated in both Fredericksburg battles, and also many "skirmishes. Mr. Kennedy takes an active part in local politics in the town of Clarendon, where he has lived since 1873. He is engaged in farming and speculating in live stock. [page 121]
Rowley, Henry, is a descendant of William Rowley, who was born in France and died in Palmyra, Wayne county. Subject's father was Stephen B. Rowley, born in Wayne county, and died in Carlton in 1886, aged eighty-three years, and his mother was Phoebe Wood. They had four children: Elizabeth, born in Wayne county in 1821; William, born in Wayne county in 1823; Henry, born July 4, 1829 ; and Phoebe Jane, born in Wayne county in 1831. Subject was reared on a farm, and in 1864 purchased the Hatch farm of eighty-three acres, where he now resides. He has held the office of assessor six years, and is a member of the I. O. G. T., of Kenyonville, No. 591. Mr. Rowley married at Carlton June 15, 1854, Eunice Hatch, born August 11, 1834, and died February 1, 1881. They had three children: Charles H., born April 23, 1863, who married Marion Robinson, by whom he has two children: Clayton, born August 19, 1885, and Edith, born in March, 1887; Martha E., born April 28, 1858, and died February 24, 1864; and Cora B., born September 16, 1869. Subject married second Jennie E. McKennan April 3, 1883. She was born October 4, 1844, and they have had one child, George Lincoln, born April 20, 1886. [page 149]
Burch, Theodore, was born in Lyons, Wayne county, August 23, 1833, and was the youngest but one of the seven children of William and Zilpha Burch. The father died when Theodore was a child, and after a widowhood of twelve years, his mother married Asa Paine, and soon after settled in Barre. Theodore was sent to learn the blacksmith trade when he was but sixteen years old. He continued this business for eleven years, then became a farmer, and this is his present occupation, although he practices as a veterinary surgeon somewhat extensively in Barre. On March I, 1865, he married Laura Wolcott, and after seven years she died, and he married Maria H., daughter of the late Rev. Trenck Mason. They had two children, Jerome, who died at two years of age, and Harriet M. [page 167]
Harris, Robert W., was born in Arcadia, Wayne county, and the family are of English origin. His father, Alfred Harris, was born in Dutchess county in 1810, and is still living and resides in Sodus, Wayne county. Alfred Harris married Electa J. Childs, who was born in Hopewell, Ontario county, in October, 1820, and died in October, 1845. Their children were John, Austine, who died young, and Robert. Alfred Harris married for his second wife Louisa Kanouse, who was born in Manchester, Ontario county, and by her had two children, John and Louisa (deceased.). John resides in Sodus. Robert Harris was educated in the common schools of his native town and his boyhood days were spent on the farm. At the age of twenty-five he worked the farm of his father-in-law, John Milham, of Carlton, on shares for two years. Fie then purchased a stock of merchandise of O. M. Hill, carrying on a grocery business for two years, and afterward added hardware and notions, which business he continued eight years, when he built a new store and carried on a general country store, January 1, 1894, He bought and sold coal for five years and in the summer of 1893 he erected a commodious warehouse at Waterport Station, where he buys all kinds of produce and fruit. Mr. Harris is a Republican and has held the office of justice of the peace for eighteen years continuously, and has been postmaster of Waterford under Garfield's, Arthur's and Harrison's administrations for twelve years. In the fall of 1864 he enlisted in the 9th N. Y. Heavy Artillery and served till the close of the war; was wounded at the battle of Cedar Creek, and now draws a pension. Mr. Harris is a member of Renovation Lodge No. 97, of Albion, and of Curtis Post, G. A. R., of Albion. In 1869 he married Mary Milham, of Carlton, who was born April 12, 1848, in Sodus, Wayne county, and whose father, John Milham, was born in Columbia county September 29, 1811. He is still living and resides in Waterport. His wife was Catherine Miller, born in Columbia county March 11, 1819. Their children were Edmund G., born January 25, 1844, and Mary, the wife of our subject. The children of Robert W. and Mary Harris were Frank M., born December 18, 1871, and John A., born June 16, 1873. John A. is a graduate of Rogers & Williams' Business College, Rochester, in March, 1891, in the short-hand course. [page 187]
Dietsch, William H., was born in 1860 at Newark, Wayne county, N. Y. He is a son of Frederick Dietsch, who was a native of Germany. He married Dortha Heitz. William H. came to Holley in 1884, and purchased the bakery of Walter Brockway, and has since carried on that business. He is a member of Holley Lodge, I. O. O. F. In 1885 he married Ella Winegard, of Holley, and they have two daughters, Viola and Grace. [page 227]
From: "Delegates' Directory. General Conference, Methodist Episcopal Church, Atlantic City, N.J., May 2, 1932":
Delegate from Central New York Conference (Buffalo)
Thorpe, Jarvis, L., physician, Clyde, N.Y. (reserve delegate)
From: "Delegates' Directory. General Conference, Methodist Episcopal Church, Columbus, Ohio, May 1, 1936":
Delegate from Central New York Conference (Buffalo)
Thorpe, Jarvis, L., physician, Clyde, N.Y. (reserve delegate)
The following bio of Williamson native Bradner Curtis was contributed by Hamilton County NYGenWeb coordinator Lisa Slaski.
From: History of San Joaquin County, California, with Biographical Sketches of the Leading Men and Women of the County Who Have Been Identified with Its Growth and Development from the Early Days to the Present, by George H. Tinkham. Los Angeles: Historic Record Company. 1923.
BRADNER CURTIS.- It is ever interesting to recount the life events of the pioneer, who endured the privations of this new country and passed through the hardships and dangers incident to a sea voyage in a sailing vessel following the gold discovery in California. Bradner Curtis was born in Williamson, Wayne county, New York, January 9, 1825, and in young manhood he learned to be a pattern maker and was employed by his brother, who engaged in the foundry business and in manufacturing agricultural implements, up to the time he left for the West.
During his school days Bradner Curtis formed the acquaintance of Miss Kezia Benton, who was born in Canajoharie, N.Y., December 20, 1822, was educated in Canajoharie Academy, on the Mohawk River, and still later was a pupil in Cortland Academy, both in New York State. She was a daughter of Hiram and Cynthia (Hodge) Benton, on her mother's side, being a descendant of a colonist who came in the Mayflower. The acquaintance of the young people formed during school days ripened into a deeper affection that resulted in their marriage September 23, 1849. In December of the same year, they sailed from New York harbor bound for California, on a vessel that had formerly done service as a packet, but had been reconstructed for use as a sailing craft. Eight months were consumed in the voyage, although they were at no time out of sight of land, and while passing Valparaiso they could hear the natives calling to them. Some of the delay was due to the fact that at Cape Horn they were compelled to lay over for one month, owing to heavy storms prevailing at the time. They reached San Francisco in July, 1850, and after remaining there for two days, having been met in the meantime by Mrs. Curtis' two brothers, Hyland and Byron Benton, the latter conducted them to Mormon Gulch, near Tuttletown, Tuolumne County, where the brothers lived while they teamed from Stockton. Mr. Curtis also became interested in mining and started a trading camp there, but finally hired a man to help him at that, while Mrs. Curtis took charge of the trading camp and she baked pies and pastry, which were rapidly bought up by the miners and Indians. Mr. Curtis was the first man to build a sluiceway on the creek at Columbia and this creek was named after him. Mrs. Curtis was the first white woman in the mines near Sonora, Tuolumne County. They remained in that vicinity about three years, during which time he made sufficient money to enable him to start ranching here.
Removing to Stockton from Tuolumne County, Mr. Curtis bought 320 acres of land just north of the city, some of it being purchased for twelve dollars per acre; this land was part of a Spanish grant which Captain Weber had bought in the early days. The assessed valuation of this land is now $200 per acres; this ranch was farmed to grain. Thirty acres of this tract sold in 1885 to the Caledonian Club for $10,000; later it was bought by the Stockton Electric Railroad Company and sold by them to the City of Stockton for $30,000. It is now Stockton's amusement park, known as Oak Park, and is valued at $75,000. Mr. Curtis named this thirty acres Goodwater Grove, from a fine well of cold water on the place; this grove was used as a picnic ground for many years by the residents of Stockton. Mr. Curtis bought a block of land in Stockton from Charles Whale, bounded by Center, Commerce, Vine and Rose streets. At the time of purchase it was a grain field and Mr. Curtis built on this property and made his home there until his death, March 4, 1881. Later Mrs. Curtis moved a house from the ranch and these two houses are still standing on the property. Mrs. Curtis has reached the advanced age of 100 years, December 20, 1922. Mr. Curtis was a prominent Odd Fellow for many years, holding a membership in Charity lodge. Mrs. Curtis erected a family vault in the Odd Fellows' cemetery at Sonora, where in life Mr. Curtis had made his first start. Four children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Curtis: Mrs. Belle K. Jackson, born in Tuttletown; Frank B. and Forest D., both deceased; and Fornia S., all born in San Joaquin County.
Finger Lakes Region doctor and nurse graduates. Locations are last known residence in 1909.
From: The University Homoeopathic Observer, Vol. VII, No.2 April, 1909, this issue about the Homoeopathic Department of the University of Michigan, a medical school.
Class of 1881
Thatcher, Edward Parish, Newark, N.Y.
Class of 1888
Lee, Sarah Idella Ives (Mrs. John M. Lee), died Savannah, N.Y., Oct. 10, 1897
Class of 1893
Doud, Franklin Henderson, Lysander, N.Y.
Class of 1903
Zimmerman, E.R., Waterloo, N.Y.
The following sketches and sightings were contributed by an anonymous donor.
From: History of Will County, Illinois: containing a history of the county, etc., Wm. LeBaron, Jr., & Co. 1878, 995 pp. (Note: this is the county that Joliet's in.)
James L. ALEXANDER, farmer, P. O. Lockport; was born in New Marlboro, Mass., Aug. 22, 1805. He was married to Betsy HEALY, of Elbridge, Onondaga Co., N.Y., May 17, 1834; after marriage, he lived three years in Sodus, Wayne Co., N.Y., where he engaged in farming; in 1837, he came West and settled near Lockport, taking contracts on the I. & M. Canal on the section at Kankakee, and subsequently on Secs. 62 and 45; after the completion of the canal, he purchased a farm in the present limits of Dupage Twp., and occupied it in 1841; in 1860, he moved to the farm now owned and operated, by his widow and son, James H.; he died Dec. 29, 1876; has two children living - James H. and Sarah E. (now wife of C. W. RATHBURN, of Joliet). The home farm contains 382 acres, worth $70 per acre. Never having sought political preferment, he held no offices higher than those of School Trustee and School Director. He was a well-read, thorough-going business man; perhaps no man in the communities in which he lived enjoyed the respect and confidence of his neighbors to a fuller extent than did Mr. ALEXANDER; starting in life a poor boy, he, by manly exertions, accumulated a competency for his family, and, at his death, no man could truthfully say that he had accumulated one cent in a dishonest manner. (Lockport Township)
Guy M. BECKWITH, farmer; P.O. Kankakee; was born in Wesley Twp., Will Co., IL, Sept. 12, 1840, and is the son of Geo. M. and Phoebe S. (BARDEN) BECKWITH; his father was born in Bedford Co., Penn., about the year 1816; when he was 21 years old, his parents moved to Newark, Wayne Co., N.Y.; he and his brother left New York together for the Far West, first stopping on the Wabash River near Terre Haute, Ind., thence to North Ann Prairie, four miles northeast of Paris, IL, which is thirty-six miles south of Danville, IL, where they broke land; in 1818 or 1819, they came to the salt-works, four miles west of Danville, where they worked hard for several years. June 22, 1827, George M. BECKWITH married Charlotte GILBERT, by whom he bad one child - Lucy E.; the wife died Feb. 10, 1831, 26 years old. He was a Captain, and his brother was a Major in the Black Hawk war. He came to Wesley Twp., Will Co., at an early day, being about the first settler here; he engaged in farming; he died respected and honored. Guy M. BECKWITH enlisted as a private in Co. A, 100th IL V.I., in August, 1862; participated in all the battles of this regiment; was mustered out in June, 1865. In 1873, was Supervisor of Wesley Twp, owns 228 acres of fine improved land. Married in 1868, to Miss Orcelia F. PAIN, of Michigan, by whom he has three children. (Wesley Township)
George S. BROWN, farmer and stock-raiser; P.O. New Lenox; was born in Tolland Co., Conn., May 18, 1825; came to this State in 1850, and settled in Mokena, where he remained two years; he removed from there to Lockport in 1852, and from there to New Lenox in 1876, where he now resides; his farm consists of eighty acres, valued at $5,000. Was married in New York Dec. 5, 1848, to Miss Martha A. PETTEYS, who was born in Wayne Co., N.Y., Dec. 23, 1830; they have had seven children, five of whom are living - Ida E., G. W., Rose Belle, Edward C. L. and Lillie May; deceased - Millard P. and Frankie. Mr. BROWN was a participant in the Mexican war of 1846. In his boyhood, he had a curiosity to see the world, and travel; he, therefore, left his home at the age of 16, and set out for New London, where he shipped on board the ship Mystic, bound for the northwestern coast of North America; she left her port Sept. 14, 1844; he was discharged at the Sandwich Islands, and there shipped aboard the sloop Portsmouth, a man-of-war, for the Mexican service; he served two years, and was discharged at the close of the war, at Boston, Mass., in May, 1848. (New Lenox Township)
Nathan CORWIN, farmer, Sec. 21; P.O. Lockport; was born in Wayne Co., N.Y., March 15, 1810; he lived there, engaged in farming, up to the time he was 24 years of age, when he came West, and first moved to Wayne Co., Mich., and was engaged in clearing up timber land; two years afterward, he moved to La Grange Co., Ind., where he remained thirteen years; he came to this county in 1848, and first lived in Plainfield two years, and then in Lockport Twp. three years, farming, and in Lockport three years, keeping hotel; in 1855 he came to this township, where he has since resided; has been Poor Master and School Director. Married his first wife Sophia JEWELL, of Arcadia, Wayne Co., N.Y., June 30, 1831; she died Jan. 26,1843; they had five children - Melissa, Mary U., Horace T., Henry E. and Lydia. He married his second wife, Eliza Ann COLE, of Wayne Co., N.Y., in 1848; they had seven children - David R., Austin, Leroy, De Witt C., Alice, Edward L. and William F. (Homer Township)
Joab GASKILL, farmer, Sec. 29; P.O. Minooka; is a native of New Jersey; he was born July 6, 1805, and married Miss Emily GREEN in August, 1829; she was born in Columbiana Co., Ohio, in the year 1810, and died in February, 1855; they had six children, viz., W. G., F. J., L. H., J. J., Anna M. and Miletus B.; the latter enlisted in the 104th Ohio, V. I.; was in service about nine months, and died from sickness at Covington, Ky. Mr. GASKILL came to this county in 1869, and settled on his present place. In 1871, Mr. L. H. GASKILL moved here and took charge of the farm; he was born in Columbiana Co., Ohio March 4, 1834. He married Miss Cornelia WHITTLESEY Jan. 5, 1871; she was born in Clyde, Wayne Co., N.Y., Feb. 18, 1851; they have three children, viz., Emily A., Clara W. and Anna A. He lived in Ohio until he was 21, when he came to Illinois, and settled in Kendall Co. and engaged in farming. In 1862, he enlisted in the 127th I. V. I. as Orderly Sergeant; was in service until the close of the war, and took part in the battles of Vicksburg, Mission Ridge, the Atlanta campaign, etc. (Troy Township)
Isaac M. GILLETT, Jr., farmer and stock, Sec. 36; P.O. Spencer; was born in Wayne Co., N.Y., Oct. 6, 1850; he lived in New York about six years; then with his parents came West and settled in Homer Twp., Will Co.; he remained here on the farm about sixteen years when he came to his present place and has remained here since; the place belongs to his father, and contains 300 acres, 240 of which are located on Sec. 1, in Manhattan Twp., and is principally devoted to stock-raising; he makes a specialty of pure Suffolk swine. (New Lenox Township)
John HALEY, farmer, Sec. 35; P.O. Hadley; was born in Waldec, Prussia, Germany, April 2, 1822; he lived there until he was 25 years of age, when he came to America in July, 1847, and settled first in Wayne Co., N.Y., living there six and a half years, blacksmithing; moved from there to Prince Edward Co., Can., working at the same trade; in the spring: of 1860, he came to Will Co., and settled where he now resides; farms 250 acres. Has been Highway Commissioner six years and School Director many years. He married Miss Elizabeth KUNZEN, of Prussia, in Alliance, Wayne Co., N.Y., in July, 1847; she was born Oct. 21, 1823; they have eight children - John, born May 14, 1848; George L., born Jan. 7, 1850; Carrie, born Nov. 3, 1852; William H., born Nov. 17, 1854; Charles F., born Sept. 26, 1857; Alexander, born Oct. 3, 1860; Frank, born Dec. 18, 1864, and Emma, born June 16, 1868. (Homer Township)
G.L. HALEY, farmer; P.O. Hadley, was born in Wayne Co., N.Y., Jan. 7, 1850; came to this State in 1860, and settled in Homer Twp., he removed from Homer to New Lenox in 1876; he has now under cultivation thirty-five acres, valued at $2,100. He was married Nov. 25, 1875, to Miss Emma L. DANCER, who was born in Homer, Will Co., IL, May 14, 1851; they have had one child - Mary Edna, born Nov. 19, 1877. (New Lenox Township)
Henry HOPKINS, farmer; P.O. Lockport; was born in Wayne Co., N.Y., May 3, 1826; he remained at home till he was 18 years of age; his early life was that of a farmer's son; in February, 1865, he came West to Illinois and settled near his present residence; in December, 1874, he purchased his house, and occupied it the following, February. He was married April 12, 1853, to Caroline M. SLY, a native of New York; has bad three children - Irving W., Eugene S., Lillian D.; of these, Irving W. died in November, 1875. Mr. HOPKINS has been very successful in his business transactions; what he possesses today, he has accumulated through honest toil and well-directed energy. In the death of his eldest son he lost a most valuable factor from his working and his accumulating force; he was a young man of more, than ordinary promise. Mr. HOPKINS owns 160 acres, with fine improvements, valued at $15,000. In early life, he worked on the farm during the summer, and, engaged in teaching school during the winter for six terms; in this way, he saved about $600, a sum which, when he came West, started him on the road to success and competency. (Lockport Township)
JAMES W. MOONEY, farmer, Sec. 32; P.O. Lockport; was born in Ulster Co., N.Y., Nov. 6, 1815, where he was engaged in farming, except four years, when he clerked in a grocery store; he came to this county in 1848, and first settled in Homer Twp.; in 1861 he moved, into Lockport Twp. and after remaining sixteen years, returned to Homer Twp, and for two years was engaged in boating on the Illinois & Michigan Canal, and now resides with his sons, John H. and Charles W., who work the Garden Farm in this township. Was Township Assessor and Highway Overseer in Lockport Twp. Married Lydia Ann BURT (daughter of Harlow and Hannah BURT, of Wayne Co., N.Y.) in Wayne Co., N.Y., Dec. 31, 1836; had eleven children - Jane M., born Aug. 16, 1839; Julia A., May 1, 1841; Francis, born Aug. 30, 1842, died Aug. 26, 1843; Charity, born Feb. 3, 1844; died March 4, 1849; Mary, born April 14, 1846; Helen, Aug. 24, 1847; John Henry, Dec. 30, 1849; Harriet Francelia, March 17, 1851; Lydia Josephine, Sept. 11, 1853; William Burt, April 7, 1855, died May 4, 1856, and Charles Wesley, born July 7, 1857. (Homer Township)
Mungo PATTERSON, farmer; P.O. East Wheatland; was born in Dumfriesshire, Scotland, and is the son of John and Jane (HOWELL) PATTERSON; his father was a farmer; Mr. PATTERSON was raised on his father's farm; in 1841, he emigrated to America, and landed in New York City; he then went to Wayne Co., N.Y.; here he was engaged in farming, and remained there until 1844. While in New York, he was married in 1842 to Miss Agnes CLOW, of Scotland. In 1844, they immigrated West to Illinois, and settled in Wheatland Twp., Will Co.; here he has remained ever since, engaged in farming. Mr. PATTERSON is a Presbyterian in religion. Have six children; John was in the late war; enlisted in the 52d I. V.I., served full time and at the close of the war was honorably discharged, and is now living in Indiana. (Wheatland Township)
The following two obituaries from Michigan newspapers were contributed by Dorotha Simmons Piechocki:
From obituary of Alanson YOUNGS in "The Advertiser", Saranac, Michigan, Thursday, June 22, 1911, Vol. 19, Issue 12:
"OBITUARY -- Alanson Youngs
Alanson Youngs was born in Wayne county, New York, June 22nd, 1830. Departed this life June 11th, 1911, lacking eleven days of being 81 years of age. He was the last one living of a family of twelve children.
He came to Michigan in 1855. In 1857 he was married to Mary J. AUSTIN, of Lima, Ind., coming immediately to their home in Berlin township, being one of the pioneers of Ionia county. To this union eight children were born, four of whom died in early childhood. Enlisting in the war of the Rebellion in 1862 he served till the close of the war. In 1886 he moved to Saranac, where he has since resided.
He united with the Baptist church in 1856. He was an honest and upright man and a kind friend to everyone, a patient sufferer for many months and his life's work being finished was ready and anxious to be at rest. He leaves to mourn his loss, his wife, one son and three daughters, Ralph Youngs and Mrs. Frank SISSEM, of Saranac, Mrs. Chas. KYSER and Mrs. Walter TRUMBULL, of South Boston, also 17 grand children and 8 great grand children, besides a host of other relatives and friends.
A good man gone to his reward, his children rise up and call him blessed.... The funeral was held at the M. E. church in Saranac, Wednesday afternoon, June 14.... Six of his grandsons acted as bearers, Harold Sissem, Royal, Howard, Carl, Edward, and Ralph Kyser.
The G.A.R. attended in a body and conducted the services at the grave. The great profusion of flowers attested the respect and esteem in which he was held.
Those from away who attended the funeral were Mr. and Mrs. Clark Youngs and Mrs. Carrie Hatch, of Grand Rapids; John Youngs, of Edmore; Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Bennett, and Mr. and Mrs. Edson ARNOLD, of Ionia, and Mrs. Miles Monks, of near Ada.
Burial in Saranac cemetery."
[Note: from "Declaration for Pension" (Civil War service, certificate #300.864) of Alanson YOUNGS - "states that he was born June 22nd, 1830, at Marion, N.Y."]
From obituary of Mary Jane AUSTIN YOUNGS in "The Advertiser," Saranac, Michigan, December 17, 1914, vol. XXII, p 3, col. 6:
Obituary -- "Mary J. Austin was born in Wayne Co., NY, May 5, 1834, she departed this life December 8, 1914, aged 89 years, 7 months and 3 days.
While quite young she removed with her parents to Lagrange Co., Indiana, where in 1857 she was married to Alanson Youngs, coming immediately to their home in Berlin Township when it was nearly a wilderness. They resided on the farm for 30 years coming to Saranac in 1886 to the home in which she passed away.
To this union eight children were born, four of whom died in early childhood. She was a member of the Baptist church since 1856. She was a woman of strong character in upholding the right, she was a great worker in the temperance cause, being a member of the Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Saranac since it's organization, never missing a meeting unless prevented by sickness. . . .
Her husband, with whom she had lived a happy wedded life for 54 years preceded her to the better land June 11, 1911.
She leaves to mourn her loss, two brothers, Smith Austin of Leipsic, Ohio, aged 87 years, and George Austin of Jackson, Michigan; one son and three daughters; Ralph Youngs and Mrs. Walter Trumbull of Saranac, Mrs. F. H. Sissem of Lowell, and Mrs. Charles Kyser of South Boston; nineteen grandchildren and ten great grandchildren. . . .The funeral was held at the Methodist church, Friday afternoon, December 11....Six of her grandsons acted as bearers: Harold Sissem, Royal, Howard, Carl [?], Edward, and Ralph Kyser. The W.C.T.U. attended in a body. Those from away who attended the funeral were Mr. and Mrs. Clark Youngs and Mrs. Carrie HATCH of Grand Rapids, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph BENNETT of Ionia, Mrs. Miles MONKS of Ada, and Mrs. William MILLER of Lowell, a lifelong friend. She was laid to rest by the side of her husband in the Saranac cemetery."
[Note: Mary Jane was dau. of Noah Howe AUSTIN, b 2 Dec 1794 in Ontario, Wayne Co., NY, son of George Austin. Mary Jane's mother was Ursula FREEMAN, b 28 May 1800 in Ontario, Wayne Co., NY, dau. of Smith FREEMAN and Huldah FREEMAN. Smith d. 15 Jul 1834 in Williamson, Wayne Co., NY; Huldah followed her son and family to LaGrange Co., IN, where she d. 4 May 1865. Noah and Ursula were m. in Ontario, Wayne Co., NY, abt 1818.]
The following sketches and sightings were contributed by an anonymous donor "In Memory of E.E.".
From: The History of Tuscola County, Biographical Sketches and Illustrations, etc., Chicago: H. R. Page Company, Copyright 1883. (Note: Tuscola County is Michigan.)
CAMERON C. STODDARD, who died at his home in the village of Caro, January 24, 1876, was one of the pioneers of Tuscola county. The following is from an article published in the Advertiser after his death: "Mr. Stoddard was born in the town of Lewis, Essex County, N. Y., in February, 1829, and removed to Fair Grove, in this county, in 1852. He was married in July, 1856, to Miss Jennette E. Sanford, of Wayne County, N. Y., who now survives him; with two sons and one daughter. He was elected to the State legislature from this county in 1860. Enlisted as a private in Company A, Twenty-ninth Regiment, Michigan Volunteers, in 1864, served a little over a year, and at the time of his discharge was commissioned as first lieutenant and acting as captain of the company. After the war he returned to his home in Fair Grove, where he remained until 1872, filling the office of supervisor and nearly every other township office during the time. In 1872 he was elected county clerk, and re-elected in 1874. He has been secretary of the County Agricultural Society for seven years, and was unanimously re-elected at the last annual meeting of the society. Since he became a resident of the village of Caro his valuable services have been in constant demand, and at the time of his death he was president of the village, director of the school board, and president of the board of trustees of the M. E. Church in this village. Mr. Stoddard was a man noted for his firmness of character, sustaining every principle of right, frowning on all wrong; for his correct business habits, and quiet demeanor, and no man says aught against him; never seeking place or position, but always receiving from a people who appreciated him as a faithful public servant, an honest man, an exemplary citizen. His death is a loss to the county that will long be mourned."
DANIEL KINYON: Among the early settlers of Tuscola County was Daniel Kinyon, who died in Caro October 1, 1882. He was fifty-six years of age at the time of his death and was one of the victims of that insidious, but deceiving disease, consumption. The Jeffersonian of October 5, 1882, says of him: "The funeral took place from the Universalist Church, which was handsomely draped, Tuesday afternoon, under the direction of the Masonic fraternity. During the hours of service, and during the funeral procession, the places of business in town were closed and flags displayed at half mast as at token of regard to one who was universally respected by the whole community."
"Daniel Kinyon was born in Arcadia, Wayne County, N. Y., in 1826, and moved to Wayne County, Mich., with his parents in 1831. In 1851, in company with Mr. Frank Fairman, of Juniata, he came into Tuscola County and took up a piece of land in that township opposite Mr. Fairman's. The two young pioneers built a shanty on the line between their places, where they labored as only pioneers know how for many a weary day. Success followed their efforts. Mr. Kinyon finally bought a farm in the west part of the corporation and moved to Caro, where he has since resided, and was, perhaps, one of the best known men in these parts. He was always noted for his kindness, and seemed to move through life bearing good will to all and malice toward none. Many a poor man will bless the memory of Daniel Kinyon for pecuniary assistance in the time of need. Mr. Kinyon was the youngest of six brothers, four of whom are living, his brother John living in this village since 1875, and the others living in the southern part of the State. Mr. Kinyon leaves a family consisting of his widow and five children behind him, with whom the many warm friends of the deceased mingle their sorrow."
Mr. Kinyon was a member from its organization of Mt. Moriah Lodge, F. & A. M., which body passed resolution of sorrow for his death and sympathy with his family, as also did Caro Lodge, No. 173, I. O. O. F., he being a member of that fraternity.
Mrs. Louisa Kinyon, widow of the deceased, was born in Plymouth, Wayne County, Mich., and was married to Mr. Kinyon some twenty-nine years at the time of his death. The family consists of two daughters and three sons. The eldest son, Willie B., resides on the farm originally purchased by his father in Juniata township. The remainder of the family reside with their mother at the homestead in the village of Caro, at the time (1883) we write.
From: William G. Cutler's History of the State of Kansas. Chicago: The Western Historical Company, A.T. Andreas, Proprietor, Copyright 1883
REV. JARED W. FOX, farmer, Section 11, Township 14, Range 16, P. O. Ridgeway, was born in Sherburne, New York, December 5, 1810, son of Amasa Fox and Abagail Ware. Mr. Fox grew to manhood in his native town and was apprenticed at Burlington, New York, for five years. He entered the Oneida Institute at Whitesboro in the fall of 1832, and graduated from Union Theological Seminary, New York City, and was ordained at Adam's Basin, N. Y., as pastor of the Congregational Church and subsequently became pastor of the Congregational Church in Chili, Monroe County, N. Y., which he served faithfully several years. He came to Kansas in 1860, and settled on a farm containing a quarter section which he owns in Elk Township. He erected a substantial stone house and barn in a few years since. Since coming to this State he has managed the farm and served the church in Burlingame as pastor a part of the time, and continues to hold forth the Word in the surrounding country. Mr. Fox was married in Sherburne, N. Y., January 21, 1839, to Miss Mercy C., daughter of Jonathan Copeland, Esq. and Mrs. Rebecca Edwards Copeland. They have seven children - Charles G., Jared C., Irving C., Herbert E., Elliott H., Jonathan C. and Mirtie R. C. Charles G., son of the above, was born in Adams Basin, N. Y., January 9, 1840, and was educated in Walworth Academy. He came to Kansas in 1859, and settled in Elk Township, where he owns a good farm. He was elected Surveyor for Osage County and filled the office for seven years. He has also been engaged in teaching school most of the time since coming to the State. He was in the militia and participated with Sterling Price on the blue. He was united in marriage in E., daughter of Johnathan Pratt, Esq. and Clarissa Jennings. They have four children - Frank E., Mertie C., Nellie A. and Grace B. Mr. Fox is a member of the Congregational Church. [Osage County]
GREEN, M. D., Moodyville, was born in Amherst Mass., March 6, 1823. At the age of six years his parents moved to New York, and at the age of twelve years he was removed to Ohio. He was educated at an academy in Wayne County, N. Y. Studied medicine, alternated with teaching school. Attended his first course of lectures at the Medical Department of Willoughby University, and the following year graduated from the Medical Department of the University of Buffalo, class of 1849. He settled in practice in Lucas County, Ohio, and practiced there until 1878, when he moved to Kansas, settling at Alma, Wabaunsee County. In 1882 he moved to Pottawatomie County, locating at the Mineral Springs near the new town of Moodyville. He, in partnership with Dr. Woodard, erected, in the spring of 1883, a bathing establishment at that famed resort. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. He was married May 29, 1849, in Wayne County, N. Y., to Miss Catherine Stoutenberg. Mrs. Green having departed this life, he again married, February 8, 1855, at Monroe, Mich., Miss Eveline Bancroft. They have four children - Kate S., William C., M. Anna and Mattie. McComas is the proprietor of the Mechanic's Hotel, Louisville, Kan. [Pottawatomie County, Rock Creek Twp]
A. S. KEMPER, stock-dealer, was born in Wayne County, N. Y., August 24, 1852. He was educated at an academy at Newark. In 1870, he came to Kansas, settling in Pottawatomie County near Louisville on a farm. Continued to farm for five years, and then clerked for Mr. Bittman for two years. He returned to New York in 1877, and began business at Lyons as a clothing merchant. Two years later, he returned to Kansas, relocating at Louisville, and has been engaged in the livestock trade since, his shipping points being Wamego and Onaga. He is a member of the Masonic order. Was married, January 6, 1883, at Westmoreland, Kan., to Miss Hattie A. [Pottawatomie County]
Wayne County Family Bios Section